I’m All Choked Up

I’ve been a bit weepy the last couple of days.

All happy tears, I promise.

And I’m not overly hormonal {no more so than usual at least}.

Big Cutie had her end of the year Choir Concert and sang so beautifully with her sixth grade class.  Their last song was Sara Bareilles’ Brave and I found myself completely choked up listening to a group of Middle Schoolers singing these lyrics~

“You can be amazing
You can turn a phrase into a weapon or a drug
You can be the outcast
Or be the backlash of somebody’s lack of love
Or you can start speaking up

Nothing’s gonna hurt you the way that words do
When they settle ‘neath your skin
Kept on the inside and no sunlight
Sometimes a shadow wins
But I wonder what would happen if you

Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave
With what you want to say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave”

choir

{yes, I know cell phone photos from the middle of the auditorium stink, but you get what you get and you don’t throw a fit}

This weekend, we also celebrated the One-Year Anniversary of Shaving Day for Little Cutie.  Shaving her hair off last year with the St. Baldrick’s Foundation was an incredibly moving experience for our whole family, and something that is still a regular part of our family conversations.  To date, Little Cutie raised more than ¥1.2 Million or $12,142 for pediatric cancer research {if you’d like to contribute to this amazing cause, you can still do so here!}.  

So we “celebrated” with her first haircut in a year!

oneyear

She’s gonna change the world, this one.  Her conversations with me about politics, injustice in the world, and how to fix things are wise beyond her years.  Now if I can just get her to remember to get the towel into the hamper and off the floor and that chocolate does not belong at the top of the food pyramid, we’ll be in business.

Finally, I was weepy on Mother’s Day.

I have had over a decade of what we’ll just have to call cursed Mother’s Days.

Not because my Cuties and husband aren’t amazing, but just some ridiculously, borderline comical bad luck.  Seriously, folks.

My first Mother’s Day with Big Cutie, The Cute In-Laws came to visit.  On the way home from brunch, someone ran a red light, T-boned us, flipped our car and totaled it.  We spent the rest of Mother’s Day at the emergency room being checked out and Big Cutie made her television debut as every network ran the visuals of the crash with the ominous tagline A Mother’s Day Outing Gone Bad, ending with Big Cutie in her smocked dress {but of course!} playing in the paramedics arms, clearly unharmed, with a voice over talking about car seats saving lives {FYI – we all walked away fine!}.

Subsequent Mother’s Days included waiting on a biopsy of a tumor in my breast {needed to be removed, but benign}, my Crohn’s Disease diagnosis, a febrile seizure for Little Cutie and more.

So really, all I want for Mother’s Day at this point is to survive unscathed!

And boy did I!

I woke to beautiful cards from my husband and My Cuties, including long letters from my girls, I will cherish forever.  Big Cutie woke up early and ran to our local Starbucks and brought home my favorite drink {yay for life in the big city!}.  Little Cutie had picked out my favorite flowers from the little florist shop around the corner and they gave me the most adorable hashi rests I’ve been stopping to admire in the shop window for weeks.

hashirests

There’s a reason behind why they picked each of the little animals, which makes them all the more special!

After Sunday School we went for a lovely brunch with two of our favorite families.  I looked over at one point where the kids were all sitting and playing a silly game to one side of me and the adults were chatting on the other side of me and thought to myself, “This.  This is Mama goodness.  Surrounded by my family – the one I have and the ones I picked.  Lots and lots of happy.”

And then I remembered it was Mother’s Day and added an extra prayer no one was hit by a taxi crossing the street.

And we weren’t.

Everyone made it home safe and sound.  My own sweet peeps made dinner, that included cupcakes Big Cutie baked herself and hubby and The Cuties cleaned up and we raced to call the Cute Grandmothers to wish them a Happy Mother’s Day as they woke up on the other side of the world before we all headed to bed.

Happy tears are a good thing.

This entry was posted in Celebrations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m All Choked Up

  1. Cute Grammy says:

    Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lovely. Hopefully all your future mother’s days will continue in this manner. Well deserved…….you are an amazing mom.

    By the way Big Cutie looks so adorable in the picture from the chorus performance. Little Cutie’s “do” is cute. But I kind of liked it when she had all the hair on top and could really flop it around…. JJ

    Hope your week goes well. Hugs mom

  2. Tokyo Jinja says:

    Loved this post!! Love to you and yours and wish I could have been at brunch :-(

  3. Amber says:

    Happy belated Mother’s Day! Glad it was a safe one this time around!

    So cool that little cutie didnt have to really shave her head bald for St. Baldricks! I always thought they shaved the hair completely off. But I think that crew cut was just adorable on her.

    • feltsocute says:

      In most cases they just go down to the lowest setting on the clippers for safety reasons as opposed to an actual “clean shave.” In reality she was probably somewhere between baldness and a buzz cut – we loved how “fuzzy” her head was, LOL!

Leave a Reply

