Party Invitation Nonsense

So Big Cutie is having her 9th birthday party next month.  The rule in our house is that you may not start obsessively chattering nonstop talking about your party until the month prior.  So pretty much at midnight on September 1st she woke me up with notes to discuss her ideas.  She is truly my mini-me in every way.

She will be having a Spa Themed party and a wonderful group of women who do parties in our town will be coming to do manicures, pedicures, massages & facials (Mom ~ if you’re reading this, I was totally deprived as a 9 year old, just so you know).  After scouring the internet, we settled on this invitation from Tiny Prints.  I think my favorite part is “reserve your spa treatment” as the RSVP tag line ~ how cute is that?

So this is where we come to the part of party planning where I know I’m slightly certifiable.  I know the name of the two fonts used in the invitation so now that they’ve arrived and I need to make address labels for the envelopes I just have to Google them to upload them and print, right?  WRONG!  Neither one is available free and I’m sure as heck not paying $49 per font for my 9 year old’s envelopes (even I’m not that crazy).  So now I confess that I just spent the past 2o minutes searching all my fonts trying to decide whether Apple Symbols, Apple Gothic, Geneva CE or Verdana are closest to Park Roman (if you’re a font geek and know the correct answer please feel free to tell me!).

This is why I’ve started this blog.  Because when I try to explain to my husband tonight exactly what I did with my afternoon and why none of the laundry has been folded there will be some pretty darn justifiable eye rolling.

This entry was posted in Parties and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Party Invitation Nonsense

  1. Tara says:

    Oh, Alisha. I have no idea about the fonts, but I so share your sickness!! Mags is an obsessive party planner as well, and she is already planning her 10th birthday party in November! Like mothers, like daughters, right?!?

  2. Tracy says:

    I’ve spent all afternoon making 5 cake balls for a caterpillar cake for a 2 year old who won’t care. But I care, so here I am.

    I share the sickness. I do. Can’t wait to read more!

  3. Karly says:

    I can’t help with the font, but I wanted to let you know that my dd had a spa themed bday party back in February. It was sooo much fun! We had about 13 girls in attendance. My mom and I went the the Dollar Tree and bought cosmetic bags to use as goody bags and filled them with a personal nail file/mani-pedi set (with the toes separator thingy), a bottle of nail polish, lip gloss, pocket tissues, a pack of make-up remover wipes and a pack of gum.

    Good luck with your hunt and I hope Big Cutie has a great party!! Can’t wait to see pics!

  4. Rachelle says:

    Can’t help with the fonts, but it sounds like it’s going to be an awesome party! I love love love planning for things like that. We do birthday parties one year on one year off so this year BOTH girls get a party. It’ll be a busy fun year!🙂 My oldest might like the idea of a spa party, I might have to steal that one!😉

  5. Pam says:

    Definitely nuts, but great reading at 4am! And I. Am jealous. I want a spa day! Even if it’s surrounded by chatty 9 year olds!

Leave a Reply

