Framed Monogram Project

I love monograms.  I don’t just like them,  I LOVE them.  When naming our children, I thought long and hard about what their monogram would look like before agreeing on first and middle names and worried about possibly spelling things with their initials.  I monogram things for myself, for the Cuties and for Cute Husband.  I even once bought my sister-in-law’s dog monogrammed towels to wipe his snowy paws before they had children.  Seriously.

{I will now confess that I have a new in the box monogramming machine that I am *afraid* to open lest I become unable to stop myself from monogramming everything in the house and need to enter monogram rehab.  I continue to tell you people I know I need therapy.}

So imagine my delight today when I discovered how to raise up letters on my computer to make a proper initial monogram!  Since we’re in the middle of having our bedroom painted and I wanted a few more pieces of small art, I remembered seeing framed monograms above night stand tables {I believe it was from The Nester – if I’m mistaken and credit is due someone else, please let me know and my apologies!}.

I found two similarly sized frames at TJ Maxx in the same finish for about $6, but one had a “masculine” design to it and one was “feminine.”  I next chose my masculine font {Engravers MT} and my feminine font {Snell Roundhand}.  I set up the initials at about 150 pt for the outer letters and 200 pt for the center letter.  Then go into Format and drop down to Font.  Go to Character Spacing and then Position and Raised.  You will need to play around with how much to raise the outer letters to center them with the middle letter.  It varied a great deal with my different fonts and I did 12 pt for Engravers MT and 26 pt for Snell Roundhand.  I then printed on pieces of bone white linen resume paper for a nicer look, cropped them with my paper cutter, popped them into the frames, here you go ~

Look for them later in the week when I’ve put the bedroom back together after the painters leave!

Linked to:

The Girl Creative, C.R.A.F.T., Keeping it Simple, Between Naps on the Porch, Mad in Crafts, Making the World Cuter, Sumo’s Sweet Stuff, Sugar Bee, Dittle Dattle, Lucky Star Lane, Today’s Creative Blog, The Thrifty Home, Blue Cricket Designs, Bobby Pins Boardwalk, Sew Much Ado, My Backyard Eden, Nikki’s Nifty Knacks, Somewhat Simple, The Shabby Chic Cottage, Beyond the Picket Fence, Paisley Passions, It’s a Hodgepodge Life, A Few of My Favorite Things, Finding Fabulous

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Decorating and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Framed Monogram Project

  1. Ann says:

    Great idea! I was also desperate to make my own monograms in a simple way – I used three text boxes, with one letter in each, and played around with positioning them manually -it worked pretty good. I will try this out!!!

  2. Caren D says:

    I think it was Young House Love. John & Sheri have a framed J and S over their bed. Maybe the Nester does too though, who kows. Its a good idea!

  3. feltsocute says:

    It was definitely a full 3-initial monogram in a frame, but that’s as far as my memory goes, LOL!

  4. Laurel says:

    I’ve never seen a monogram I didn’t love – even own a machine that embroiders! Such a cute idea!

  5. Richella says:

    Wonderful! I’m with you on the monograms, but I don’t really like my “married” monogram–when I use my first name, maiden name, and married name, my monogram is “RPP.” No, thanks. So I use my middle initial and have “RJP.” Better. But it’s even better if I make a combined monogram of my husband’s name and my name. His name starts with J. For the combined monogram, I put his initial on the left and mine on the right of our last initial–not because it’s the “right” thing to do, but because J-P-R looks better than R-P-J! Funny how these things roll around in your mind, isn’t it?

    Your framed monograms look great, and I appreciate your explaining how to do it. Thank you!

  6. Holly says:

    I like this a lot! And thanks for the tute on how to raise letters…I didn’t know that.
    (I did not give a lot of thought to monograms when I named my kids, and as it turns out, my son’s monogram spells his first name!)

  7. I love the tip about raising the font~I had no clue! Very classy looking! I would love it if you linked up to the party~thanks🙂

  8. feltsocute says:

    Melissa ~ I tried the link and it came out huge for some reason. I’ll try again!

  9. Carla says:

    Very nice ~ love the frames. And thanks for sharing how to raise the middle letter. If I tried it on my own, I’m sure I would have made it much more difficult. Can’t wait to try this. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Lori S. says:

    Beautiful! Thanks for sharing your “creative mojo” with me on Thrilling Thursday. I hope you will be back again soon🙂
    ~Lori S.
    Thrilling Thursdays @Paisley Passions

  11. I love monograms as well, so I’m totally digging these! Simple and classic🙂

  12. Becky says:

    Great job…and a great way to achieve it!!!

  13. Lisa says:

    Gorgeous! I can’t believe I don’t have a monogram in my house. It’s about time!

  14. Just love the graphic elegant results with this project. Looks easy enough to get done in a jif and pretty enough to get on the wall right away. Well done!

    http://www.northerncottage.blogspot.com

  15. Carrie says:

    This is a great project! I too love anything monogramed. When I see a monogram I just have to stop in my tracks to admire it!

    I would be honored to have you add it to my blog party

    Amaze Me Monday Blog Party

  16. Kimberlee says:

    Very nice! I have been thinking about embroidering a couple monograms for art in my home.
    ~Kimberlee
    http://www.TheSpunkyDiva.com

  17. feltsocute says:

    Thanks for your kind words and I’d love to add it to your party! Look for me soon.

  18. Jan says:

    These are very unique. I haven’t seen them before and love that you have brought them to my attention. What a wonderful touch for a bedroom (his and hers). You’ve inspired me! Thanks for the great tutorial and visuals. AND thank you for linking to the Boardwalk Bragfest!

  19. wow! i really have to give this project a try!

    and, oh! your header is so so cute!

    would love for you to link up at our saturday linky party.

    http://tosewwithlove.blogspot.com/

  20. Nikki says:

    Fabulous!!!!! Thanks so much for linking it up to gettin’ crafty on hump day!!!!!🙂

  21. Becky says:

    Very cute and simple! Thanks for linking up to Beyond The Picket Fence.

  22. Robin says:

    Those are so cute! Thanks for the information on how to ‘raise’ the middle letter! I can not believe I didn’t already know that :o)

  23. Holly says:

    When you said you thought you’d seen this on Nester, I thought “I’ve seen this before too, and I don’t think it was Nester’s”. Then I scrolled down and saw that I left a comment before. I saw it here before!
    I still like it!

Leave a Reply

