The Dining Room Tour

For years and years our dining room was either a completely empty room or a playroom with an overly elaborate light fixture.  As much as Cute Husband and I loved to entertain we really wanted to wait until we were ready to buy exactly what we wanted and so for years we simply rented tables and chairs to host holiday gatherings or hid folding tables under antique table cloths and good china.  So FINALLY, a few years ago we bit the bullet and bought ourselves dining room furniture from Ethan Allen.  I’m pretty sure I squealed with delight!  Here’s looking in from our foyer~

The large bowl was a Target clearance score and the apples in it are Christmas ornaments I cut the strings off of.

While I’m a huge fan of paint, this is the one room in our house we chose to wallpaper.  It’s a really great grasscloth that just plain makes me happy.

We are not fans of the chandelier and have been searching for a new one with little luck since we need one about 30″ in diameter.  OK, that’s a lie.  I found a fabulous one.  But it was $7,000.00.  So pretty much we haven’t found one.

And here’s looking back from the breakfast room so you can see the china hutch ~

A few years ago one of Cute Husband’s cousins got married in the French countryside and after the wedding we had about 24 hours in Lyon before flying back to the States.  We had been looking for window treatments for the dining room at the time, and so I casually mentioned to Cute Husband that I read that Lyon is the textile capital of France and wouldn’t it be fun if we could look there.  Skeptically, he told me that IF I could find an interpretor for our rusty high school French and IF we could even find fabric stores near our hotel and IF we could figure out the metres to inches measurements then MAYBE this sounded like an OK idea.  Silly boy!  NEVER underestimate the power of a manic decorator on a mission!  So thanks to my mother-in-law and who I believe was one of her colleague’s daughters who just happened to be living in Lyon with her French husband, appointments were set, translations were made, and metres upon metres of fabric were bought.  And let me give a little unsolicited advice to American fabric stores that I guarantee will increase your sales significantly:  WINE, people!  Serving great wine while your customers browse fabric sample books is a TERRIFIC way to lessen the blow of calculating the price of what 26 metres of French silk will cost!

And because we then promptly moved to a house with a dining room with one large window instead of three small ones, I had to have them reworked and have extra panels hanging in my cedar closet.  Sigh.  So if you *happen* to see me at a black tie affair wearing a ball skirt out of this particular fabric I’m not having a Scarlet O’Hara moment, but rather trying to placate Cute Husband and convince him that shopping in France is still a good thing!

In addition to our china hutch, our dining room has these really cool corner built ins that apparently were the signature piece of the architect who built our home in the 20s, and are a great place to display some of our special items.  I took a picture of our kiddush cup collection.  There are a few particularly special ones.  The small white and blue one, second from the left in front, was a gift from family friends and was used by us on our wedding day.  It was hand painted with our Hebrew names and also says “I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine” in Hebrew.  The large cobalt blue one has bits of blue glass in the stem.  That glass was what Cute Husband stomped on at the end of our wedding ceremony and was then made into this cup.  Now, can anyone guess which glass Little Cutie made for me at Sunday School and proudly showed me exactly where she thought it should go?

One of the things that really drew us to this house was the set up from the dining room to the breakfast room.  We host a lot of holidays for our extended families and when we can’t all fit in the dining room even with all the leaves in the table, we open up the French doors to the breakfast room and can make a “kids table” and they are still a part of the festivities.

Our buffet was my grandparents’ and I love having it to use.  We generally keep it fairly clean so it’s available for food, but the one thing out on it as a seder plate given to us for our engagement by all of our parents together {I love to imagine all four of them shopping trying to figure out what they wanted to buy us ~ I’m sure there was at least one meal involved}.  It’s by a very funky Russian artist named  Noi Volkov.  We don’t actually use it on Passover because it’s not very practical to pass it around the table, but the Cuties love to rearrange the color order on the little plates and see if I notice.  Sneaky little buggers.

This entry was posted in Decorating, Parties and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Dining Room Tour

  1. Rachel says:

    Love it, as usual! And can I say it again? Love your blog, love your writing, love it all.

  2. Heather says:

    Beautiful dining room! i love it, the colors are great and the window treatments are so pretty!! Great room!

  3. feltsocute says:

    Thanks, Rachel! I really appreciate it.

  4. Stephanie says:

    Absolutely gorgeous!

  5. that is one mega table! and i love that saying, i am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine. it doesn’t get any more beautiful than that. and seriously…i am so glad to have found you in blogland. with your jewishness. we are few and far between!

  6. Cheryl says:

    I have the same Beloved saying on our Ketubah and a set of 2 homemade, “stained glass” kiddush cups that each of my children made in Religious School. They are my favorite decoration for our holidays. We have Ethan Allen in our dining room as well. Can’t go wrong with them! Enjoy your weekend, Cheryl

  7. Jenni says:

    GORGEOUS!!! How sunny and beautiful!! I love your little room beside it, too!!!!!!🙂

  8. Debbie says:

    Love your wall color and those window treatments.

  9. Brittany says:

    love the moldings and wall color!

  10. fuzzylolipop says:

    Positively DROOOOOOLING over your French draperies!!! I had a similar Euro fabric experience in Greece years back before I got married – ended up with yards and yards of a Valentino lace encrusted with beading. If only I could make some drapes out of it and enjoy it everyday!🙂

  11. feltsocute says:

    OK, you know the Fuzzy “stamp of approval” makes me all warm inside!

Leave a Reply

