Hand Towel Helper

Dontcha hate this?

It’s one of those things as a Mom that makes me a little cuckoo.  But then I realized that I’m pretty sure I wasn’t an expert towel folder and hanger at six and eight and that I needed to help the Cuties out a bit.  So I came up with a very simple solution to The Hand Towel Problem ~

All you need are a hand towel, some grosgrain ribbon, scissors, a ruler and your sewing machine.

Cut two pieces of ribbon, 2 feet long, each.  Then fold each piece of ribbon in half and place it at the top of your hand towel.  All you have to do is sew over your fold in a square, and then sew an “X” through the square to give it strength.

When you’ve finished, it should look like this {don’t forget to cut your “tails” in the ends of your ribbons to prevent fraying in the laundry!}.

Now, tie in bows on your towel bar.  MUCH neater, don’t you think?

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Decorating, Organizing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hand Towel Helper

  1. Charlie's Mom says:

    Brilliant! I am totally stealing this idea when I actually have time to take out the sewing machine again. When does that happen? Preschool?

  2. Ourbighappy says:

    So cute! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Myrna says:

    Once again — this is the idea that showed me that you are a true genius. I love this!

  4. It’s a fab idea, but can your cuties tie bows?

    Kate

  5. feltsocute says:

    Kate – they can now, so that’s a big help, and it’s one of their jobs to hang up that towel when putting away clean laundry. But we’ve done this since before they could tie, and it wasn’t an issue ~ I just tied it up and they dried their hands until I replaced it with a new one!

  6. Maggie says:

    This may be the most simplistic, but BRILLIANT idea ever.

Leave a Reply

