Personalized Pumpkins!

You know me.  I never met a surface I didn’t think would be better off with a monogram or some form of personalization.

Where I live in New England the squirrels are pumpkin terrorists and you can’t put real pumpkins out for more than a few hours without them being decapitated and devoured (even with the usual “tricks” of sunscreen or cayenne pepper).  So I am no longer a pumpkin purist, and have gone the way of Funkins.  However, the joy of Funkins are that you can create a project, and then toss them all in a garbage bag and throw them in your attic until the next year and they’ll look great, year after year.

So today I’m going to teach you how to personalize your funkins.  First you need your supplies.  I buy my Funkins at Michaels since they’re already on clearance by now.  I believe I paid $9 today and the tag price is $19.99.  Figure out what you want to print on your Funkin and set it up on your computer and print it out.  My “boo” letters are in Blackmoor LET, printed at 350 pt.  When I first started personalizing Funkins I painted them with acrylics, but honestly, Sharpies work much easier and much faster and I’m ALL about instant gratification!

Next, take your pencil and scribble all over the back of your letters.  If you actually have carbon paper in your house, this would be an ideal use for it, but I don’t, and once again, this is an opportunity to point out I’m both lazy AND cheap; a charming combination, don’t you think?

Turn your template over and tape it onto the Funkin with painters tape so it will easily peel off.   I do this just so it won’t move while you’re tracing your letters and your word will stay perfectly straight.  Using a sharp pencil, now go over your letters {if you accidentally poke through your paper and write directly onto the Funkin, it’s no big deal at all}.

Can you see my very faint letters?  They don’t need to be terribly dark ~ just enough so you can see them to trace over them.

Now, grab your Sharpie and simply color in the lines.  That’s all there is to it!  There’s no limit to what you can do ~ initials, full monograms, house numbers, silly words, etc!  Enjoy and Happy Halloween!

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Decorating and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Personalized Pumpkins!

  1. Alyson says:

    Love the monogrammed pumpkin! Really, really love the polka dot pumpkin!!!!!!

  2. Megan says:

    I’ve been trying to figure out how to write on my pumpkins for weeks. I just had a major “DUH” moment. THANK YOU! Your porch is gorgeous!

  3. Stephanie says:

    Love the front door and step (I have the same wreath on my door!)

  4. my poor regular pumpkins have already been devoured by squirrels, and then violated by ants. i wish i would have know about the suntan lotion trick! but i think funkins are even better. is there a way to weigh them down, do you think? it’s rather windy here, and on a corner, i am afraid they will blow away!

  5. feltsocute says:

    I cut a small hole in the back of each one {about the size of a ipod} and throw some rocks in there to weigh them down. At the end of autumn, I just empty the rocks when I’m ready to store the Funkins. I will warn you that I think the combination of a particularly dry summer and some sort of weak acorn crop or something has made the squirrels especially ravenous this year – in the past I’ve had real pumpkins out for a good month, coated in sunscreen with no trouble. This year, we put some out and within 12 hours they were literally eaten whole!

  6. Jan says:

    Love love love your porch! You have inspired me to get busy!🙂

  7. Suzy says:

    Love your blog! I’ve been looking for a way to spruce up my funkins! I never thought to use a sharpie! I do have a question, though. Do you know how the sharpied pumpkins hold up in bad weather? Did you seal yours with anything? The weather is supposed to be cold and rainy next week and I don’t want them to get ruined. Thanks!

  8. feltsocute says:

    Mine are on my second year and holding strong. I didn’t seal them and have had no issues and we’re in New England. The ones I made last year were *slightly* faded when I pulled them down from the attic, but all I had to do was go over it with the Sharpie to “refresh” them and they were as good as new.

  9. Pingback: The Best 35 Front Door Decors For This Year’s Halloween

  10. Pingback: TOC-TOC – be cuqui

Leave a Reply

