Carlo’s Bake Shop

This past weekend we had a Bar Mitzvah to attend in northern New Jersey. Well the Cuties heard “New Jersey” and immediately screamed CAKE BOSS at the top of their lungs. Can you guess they are fans? It’s pretty much the only non-kids show they watch ~ although we’ve had to remind them from time to time that Buddy doesn’t always use the best language ever since Little Cutie walked into the kitchen and asked me “What the hell is going on in here?” and told me that Buddy says it.  Lovely.

So we hit the road and arrived to this, spanning two full blocks ~
However, people were nothing but nice in line, and there was a sweet kid from the bakery “in charge” of moving the line and telling you when to cross the street and move up to the next block.  I want to give full credit to all the many children in line, including my Cuties, who were AMAZING while waiting over an hour and a half to get inside.  I didn’t hear a single complaint or whine from any of them.  Except from the one older “gentleman” who cut in line about a block back, and despite being told by everyone around him that he was not at the end of the line, refused to move.  He was asked over and over again and finally and linebacker-sized employee from the bakery came by and very politely, but firmly, asked him to move and explained that if he didn’t want to that was fine, but when he reached the front he would not be permitted to enter the bakery by him; that did it and the guy moved to the back of the line in a big huff.  What a weenie!

We finally got inside and found out they were filming that day so Buddy wasn’t available to come downstairs or else he would have been there to see children (bummer!).  However, look who the girls did meet!

And then it was time to hit the road and head to our hotel for the Bar Mitzvah.  Of course we needed a little sustenance for our arduous journey of twenty-six miles.

While I highly recommend the cannolis, the lobster tails were literally life altering.  I told Cute Husband I’d consider getting pregnant again just so I could demand them as a pregnancy craving since he’s such an indulgent kind of guy.  Thank goodness he knows I’m kidding!

This entry was posted in Ordinary Days I Love, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Carlo’s Bake Shop

  1. oh my goodness! you are probably the best mom ever to wait in that line before going to a bar mitzvah?! how was the food at the bakery? deelish? it must be, no? can’t believe the girls met that loud sister!

    ok, so i get your updates emailed to me….where is the follow button? do you not do that? i want you to know i would follow, lol, if i could figure out where!

  2. feltsocute says:

    The pastries were super yummy {although I’m not sure I ever met a treat I didn’t like when it doesn’t involve ME slaving over a hot stove and/or having to clean up!}. I still haven’t figured out how to have “followers” on WordPress. If anyone is reading this and knows, please help me out as I am somewhat Blog-impaired! Thank you!

  3. feltsocute says:

    OK, I discovered that WordPress doesn’t have Followers like Blogger. So the option is simply to Subscribe {like you already have ~ many thanks!}.

  4. Tania says:

    Oh I wish I would have known you were in town, I would have loved to have met up with you. Although I am sure you had more than enough going on! I have missed your POV and decorating knowledge and did not realize you had this wonderful blog.
    Best wishes always,
    Tania “Mamide2” CBBC

Leave a Reply

