R.I.P.

I’m in mourning.

After almost a decade of service, selfless devotion and unwavering consistency, my beloved glue gun Ethel, has oozed her last bit of scalding adhesive.

Cute Husband had been warning me for some time now that the end was near as he’d watch my hand quiver in exertion as I attempted to squeeze a few last days of work out of her.  But I wouldn’t hear of it.  Ethel has been with me since before my babies.  Since before my houses.  She’s a stalwart.  With her solid, rechargeable base, and hot/cool switch options.  Sigh.  I can’t even muster up the love to name her replacement.  They simply don’t make them like her anymore. Literally.  I’m totally bummed I can’t find a similar replacement model anywhere.  Anyone?

In Memorium {2000-2010}

 

This entry was posted in Craft Projects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to R.I.P.

  1. Kristyn says:

    My mom had a sewing machine like that. It was a Singer and she bought it for $80 before she headed off to college to study home economics. That machine got her through college (she made most of her own clothes), first jobs, three girls, various matching polyester outfits when we were younger, 4-H projects, prom dresses, bridesmaid’s dresses for 4 weddings and grandbaby clothes. They just don’t make them like that, you are right. But now she has a fancy machine that even threads itself and she is happy. Hope you find a good second-in-line for Ethel!

  2. feltsocute says:

    Ahh ~ so close, but alas, their cordless with base model is not dual temp. I SO appreciate your trying and those look AWESOME – I may try one anyway. Many Thanks!

  3. feltsocute says:

    That’s exactly what I’m looking for, except Ethel was on a base, and could unplug and be used cordless. This one looks to me to be plugged in, but if I’m mistaken, please correct me and I’d be ecstatic!!! Thank y’all so much for searching!

  4. feltsocute says:

    OMG! A million thanks! That’s it!🙂

  5. Megan says:

    Hobby Lobby carries the one that Dina posted as well. Poor Ethel…

  6. feltsocute says:

    That must be part of my problem now that I no longer live in the South! 😦 Again, thank you all so much for helping me.

  7. Hayley says:

    I have the same glue gun. I dread the day it goes to heaven. lol.
    I just added you to my blog roll, by the way. Glad to see you started a blog!

Leave a Reply

