Bathroom Tour

It’s Friday and that means I’m again joining in on the Show Us Your Life tour at Kelly’s Korner.  This week is bathrooms .

Once again, in an older house, ours will look VERY different than those of you in newer construction homes.  In fact, our master bathroom is SO tiny it’s physically impossible to photograph it {literally, Cute Husband and I CANNOT simultaneously brush our teeth!}.  But trust me, you’re not missing much.

The Cuties, on the other hand, have a very sweet little vintage bath.  I love the original hexagon tiles and the pedestal sink.  The previous owners updated the light fixtures and while I really love them I wonder if they’ll still be as lovely when we move into the days of putting on makeup and needing really crisp lighting.

The rod in the shower is hung much higher than the typical placement, so a project that has been on my to-do list for some time now is to sew an extender onto the curtain.  I bought a panel that matches the valance that is already as long as the width of the shower curtain so I just need to find the time to cut it, sew it, and then find some cute pom pom fringe or over-sized ric rac to sew over the seam.  I suspect this will happen well after the holidays at this point in my life.  I’m such a slacker.

I bought the curtain at an independent Ace Hardware store when we lived in Charlotte, the towels & rugs at Target, the tissue holder & other ceramics at Pottery Barn Kids and the window treatment at Bed, Bath & Beyond.  Pretty decent matches, eh?

From this angle you can see the VERY tiny, narrow linen closet in here.  I believe it’s about 12 inches wide.  Very cute, but completely impractical.  It literally holds washcloths and a few cleaning supplies, and not much more as bath towels are too wide!  You can also check out my tutorial on the hanging hand towel project here and stop being driven crazy by unfolded, dropped towels, too!

This is currently our third-floor guest bathroom, but soon will become Little Cutie’s private salle de bain when she gets her Fancy Nancy room redo!

There’s only the handheld “telephone” shower up here, but The Cuties LOVE to come up here for baths and call them “mermaid baths” since the clawfoot tub is so large they can essentially swim in there.  Since we don’t have a bathtub in our bath, I often escape go up there to read a magazine on a cold night, too.

And here’s our tiny little powder room, tucked under our front staircase.  Again, it’s almost too small to photograph {yes, there’s a theme here!}, but I did my best.   For your amusement, you should picture the smallest bathroom you’ve seen, and then imagine that you *occasionally* don’t pull the door shut 100% so that it tightly latches.  Now imagine the 150 pound Newfoundland we used to have, who loved to nose his way in and try to join you in a room he physically couldn’t fit in in the first place….

It was hard to show in the pictures, but if you look carefully, you can see the slope of the staircase above the commode.  More than a few times, I have stood up quickly while being screamed for and smashed my head.  Fortunately, we’re short in the Felt So Cute household.  So if you’d like to become close, personal friends of ours, you really need to be no taller than 5’10”, or at least remember to walk slumped over.

P.S.  Special recognition to anyone who counted the number of ‘Gs’ correctly in the powder room!🙂

So that’s it, minus the playroom/basement bathroom {it’s kind of generic anyway}.  As always, feel free to stop by.  I am obsessive about having plenty of toilet paper on hand.  And not the cheap stuff, either; it’s always the good stuff.  Trust me!

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Bathroom Tour

  1. tracy says:

    Love your pictures! Especially that cool sing!!

  2. LOVE your tub and sink!!!!!!!

  3. Tanya says:

    I was JonesCT on bhb – what happened to Tank?!

  4. Katie says:

    Hey! I love your blog! Would you mind writing a post on how you monogram the hand sanitizer bottles? Thanks!!

  5. feltsocute says:

    Thank you! I will soon, I’ll try to do it sometime soon, I promise!

  6. Katie says:

    Awesome! Thanks so much.

  7. Libby says:

    I was LibbyBlink on bhb. I am so glad that you finally have a blog. Your decorating is amazing!

  8. feltsocute says:

    Thank you ~ you’re so sweet!

  9. Love the fun greens and pinks! And that clawfoot bathtub looks divine!

  10. Rona says:

    What amazing colors and decor. It’s right out of a magazine.

  11. Mandy says:

    I just love that tub! So jealous!

  12. Love the pink & green! Awesome hexagon tile floor!

Leave a Reply

