The Playroom and Laundry Room Tour!

In typing that title and thinking about what I’m about to show you, I’m thinking we’ll all agree Mama got the short straw here!

It’s Friday, and so once again I’m linking up with the Show Us Your Life tour of homes.

One of the biggest selling points of this house to us was the finished basement we could turn into a playroom and eventual rec room for The Cuties.  They are old enough that they can play fairly unsupervised and the steps down are right off my kitchen.  Since they are underneath me while I’m cooking or doing dishes, I can hear them as well, which makes it a great space for everyone.

Here’s our couch and TV area {every single piece of the sectional is a slipcover which makes it the most kid-friendly piece of furniture made!  That thing is over 5 years old and still in perfect shape!}

I have workmen in my basement right now, so I’m having to post with older pictures and I hate that I didn’t get a better shot of the United States map.  It’s by far the coolest piece of art we own and is by an artist named Aaron Foster.  Each state is cut from a license plate from that state.  Check him out!

Here’s the stage and dress up area we set up for The Cuties.  Big Cutie got a little Flip camera last year for her birthday and now they write, film and produce their own films ~ watch for a major motion picture coming soon to a theatre near you!

Here’s the arts & crafts area.  They do a really great job of creating their own projects now and I love to keep them stocked with supplies.  You can also see the art wire where they display all their finished masterpieces and their computer desk {the door to the right of the computer is the bathroom and the doors to the left are the electrical closet}.

The “Reading Nook” & “Rock and Roll” area {yes, in a slightly daft moment I acquiesced to drums for Little Cutie’s 5th birthday.  I repeat: I need therapy!}.

Here’s how we store all of our many board games, and all of the Barbies, Polly Pockets, etc!  Cute Husband would probably want me to also point out his awesome speakers that provide us with startlingly great surround sound while watching movies.

We’re going to be doing a few things down here soon and I’m thinking of replacing the carpet with tile and area rugs.  When we do that, I will then get around to painting ~ any color suggestions?  I was thinking a pale golden yellow, but that seemed a little “predictable” to me.  Maybe a robin’s egg blue?  Any ideas are welcomed!

OK, now are you ready to see my piddly little corner of a Laundry “Room?”

Wait ~ did you blink and miss it, LOL!  I often fantasize about a big folding table with space for baskets underneath and cabinets for all the assorted “stuff.”  Seriously.  That’s the kind of fantasy life we stay at home Moms have sometimes.

 

This entry was posted in Decorating, Organizing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Playroom and Laundry Room Tour!

  1. How neat is this.. my kids would go crazy with all that space and a dress up space! My daughter would be in heaven, very cool!

  2. Sasha says:

    Your basement is amazing! I need to work on storage in our playroom and love your storage ideas.

  3. Allison says:

    wow!!! i love love love your basement. such a great space for the kids (and you). thanks for sharing the pics.

  4. Now be honest….did you run around and clean up that playroom before you took the pictures. I only ask because I WOULD HAVE HAD TO. teehee Toddler on the loose.

  5. feltsocute says:

    Sometimes yes, sometimes no! The Cuties are 6.5 & 9 and can pretty much get the room looking that way on their own. On a “normal” day {translation: day Mommy isn’t taking pictures}, there’s usually a craft project out on the table and Little Cutie has 40 Barbies out on the floor looking a little too much like they all drank the Kool-Aid at Jonestown for my tastes, LOL!

  6. J says:

    We recently tiled our basement after a major flood – I was really on the fence about the project. We decided on HUGE 24″x24″ tiles that are made to look like stained concrete, and used very thin grout lines. The finished product is amazing! Best part – the tile was 99 cents/sq ft. Total steal.

  7. Heather says:

    What a great room! I love all the space you have down there! I also love the red couch and the fact that I think you have more toys than us…I thought we had more than I’ve ever seen so I’m glad you have lots as well!

  8. Your bonus room and play room is A-mazing!!! Love it! Thanks for visiting my blog!!!

  9. Shoshanah says:

    I love the dress-up area and stage! I think it’s such a awesome thing to have in a play room.

  10. I love this! The dress-up area is fantastic.

  11. Amanda says:

    Wow! I wish I had a finished basement but we don’t have those in Texas! What a great space!

  12. i LOVE the playroom!!! so cute!!

  13. M says:

    I love your playroom, especially the stage! What did you use to hang the curtain from? I am wanting to create a similar stage in our playroom but the width of the room is 14 feet. I am trying to figure out how to create something sturdy to hang the curtain from and it looks like your method might fit the bill. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

  14. feltsocute says:

    It’s hung on small curtain rods

Leave a Reply

