A Gift of the Season

The past week has been hectic and overwhelming like many of us experience this time of the year.  When you’re Jewish, your holidays come at times of the year when life still goes on all around you: school is in session and there’s homework to finish each night; activities are in full swing each afternoon; and there’s a mad rush to get to everything and put a proper dinner on the table before lighting the Hanukkah candles and spending time together as a family.  It’s frenetic at best.

Lately, I’ve felt especially rushed and agitated.  On top of the holidays it seems like there’s too much to get done and not enough time to do it all.  The puppy is pooping in places where she shouldn’t.  The kids are whinier than usual.  I’ve had a cold that just won’t quite go away.  I went to bed last night just plain feeling out of sorts and grumpy.

And today started off as yet another one of those days; so busy Cute Husband had to come home early so we could divide and conquer ~ him to the school Math Festival with Little Cutie and me to the Cotillion Holiday Party with Big Cutie.  Another rushed afternoon where I would race home to drop off the children with Cute Husband and then run back out because there was a PTO meeting up at school.

But now I’m home and the children are snuggled up in flannel jammies sound asleep in their beds.  And my sweet Cute Husband is cooking me lamb chops and mint jelly, one of my very favorite meals ever.  And I’m going through the photos from the Cotillion party and my heart has just skipped a beat.

Because here is my beautiful Big Cutie….

…all dressed up in her white gloves and velvet dress with an ear to ear smile, happy as can be with her friends.

And boy can she dance a sweet little waltz

and a sassy little cha cha cha

and then I found this picture of her and her two besties showing off how they nicely fold their hands in their laps and cross their legs at their ankles like proper ladies and I lost my breath looking at her leg brace in the mix.

Because eight years ago when I first heard the words Cerebral Palsy I didn’t ever imagine a life that included things like white gloves, Cotillions and cha cha chas.  In fact, I imagined some very sad and dark days.  I remember crying and praying and wishing that all I wanted for my child was her to have a normal life and do the things that little girls grow up to do.  And tonight I realized that while there is joy in watching her dance and twirl, there is also joy to be found in the chaos of the past few days.  Of arguments and sisterly fights; of complaining about too much homework; of hopping in and out of the car back and forth from home to school to art and back again.  Because it’s all normal, too.

Actually it’s better than normal.  It’s precious.  A precious gift.  One of the greatest gifts I’ve ever been given.

This entry was posted in Ordinary Days I Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Gift of the Season

  1. What a beautiful post! It is wonderful to watch our daughters grow up and turn into lovely young ladies. My baby girl turned 14 today and I don’t know where the time went. Enjoy every day!

    Kate

  2. Angela says:

    What a beautiful post. It makes me teary eyed reading it. Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful holiday season!

  3. Cute Husband says:

    I enjoyed this post even more the 4th time. You are the best. Love you so much.

    PS have you gotten a ton of requests for my guest post yet? Might be time…. Although I’m not going to even try competing with this one – which was amazing.

  4. Myrna says:

    That was beautiful. It is amazing what you can handle because you are not handling it alone. Your daughter is an inspiration.

  5. Eileen says:

    Beautiful post, I had tears in my eyes reading this. Hope Chanukah was fun for all!

  6. Pia says:

    So, so sweet. Thanks for sharing.

    I was looking at your daughter’s shoes…do you have trouble finding cute ones to work with her brace? softstarshoes.com will make shiny Mary Janes and often can accomodate braces. I think you would like their stuff!

  7. Rachel says:

    Not sure what I loved more, the sweet post, or the precious comment left by Cute Husband.

    What an amazing family you have. So much to be thankful for, indeed.

  8. Susie says:

    What a feel good post! Thank you. I have found in life that “normal ” is all relative to your life. Everyone’s is different, and that is okay. Hanukkah was crazy at our house too!

  9. feltsocute says:

    Thanks for the recommendation. We do OK with finding shoes. Nordstrom is WONDERFUL about allowing customers to mix and match sizes as needed so we can go up a size on the braced foot and they don’t charge us for two sets of shoes! Thankfully Big Cutie’s “style” is a lot of skinny jeans so she’s content with several pairs of brightly colored Converse for daily wear, which work great since we can loosen laces for the braced foot and tighten them on her very narrow unbraced foot.

  10. Valerie says:

    You are a wonderful mother!

  11. {oc cottage} says:

    Absolutely precious!

    m ^..^

  12. glamcookie says:

    New to your blog and going through Every. Single. Post. This one was just beautiful. Brought tears to my eyes. What a lovely family you have.

Leave a Reply

