IV Haute Couture

This post isn’t about a great decorating or crafting project {OK, I guess it could be but I’m a lousy knitter so I’ve shopped what I’m sharing instead}.

I have Crohn’s Disease and Ulcerative Colitis and ever other month receive an intravenous drug called Remicade.  It’s an amazing medicine and completely changed my quality of life {and while I’m not a fan of needles, having several hours of quiet to myself every now and then and the option for a little nap isn’t such a bad thing}.

I receive my infusion in the median cubital vein, which is the fancy name for the big vein in the crook of your elbow.  In wintertime, the challenge is that this location requires me to wear short sleeves.  Combined with the fact the actual drug is ice-cold, and the whole process makes me freezing!

Clearly I complain about this a lot, as Cute Husband was willing to embark on  a little shopping expedition and we have FINALLY solved this problem.  Fingerless gloves/arm warmers!  Because I like to bring my laptop or use my cell phone and Kindle, I prefer having my fingers completely free.  There are so many cute ones out there and I’m sure talented knitters or crocheters could make them.


{I’m not really a Juicy girl, but I can’t find the actual pair I bought online}.

WARNING:  If you’re squeamish about needles, quickly scroll past this next photo, but I wanted to show how great this is working in real life.  I know many of us have people in our lives going through chemotherapy, dialysis or other IV treatments, and these would make a great last-minute Christmas gift that is sure to be appreciated!

{this particular pair was purchased at Nordstrom and is extremely soft and was very reasonably priced}

It’s good to be toasty warm today while “filling my tank with the good stuff” as I like to say on infusion days!  :)

This entry was posted in Ordinary Days I Love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to IV Haute Couture

  1. Jana says:

    I found some of these on the website….littlemissmatched.com and I thought of you! They have many in the sale area now.

  2. feltsocute says:

    Thank you SO much! Big Cutie wears Little Miss Matched socks exclusively as they are the most comfortable for her under her leg brace. She will think I am SO cool if I sport their arm warmers on infusion days, LOL! I LOVE them.

Leave a Reply

