Another Birthday Shirt

Little Cutie is about to turn 7.  Like everything else in her life, she has strong opinions about this.

Last year, I made each of the girls an upcycled birthday year shirt {see here for the full tutorial from Big Cutie’s shirt}.  But apparently, Little Cutie feels a ‘7’ would be passe, and requested her initial instead this year.  As her Mommy, I was happy to oblige!  So I dug through our stash of old, outgrown Lilly Pulitzer dresses I use for special projects like this and got to work.

Since she’ll wear this for her party at My Gym, I wanted her to also have something to hold her hair back while running around, so I made her a satin flower headband and added in a button out of the same fabric.

Now I just have to bake “Birthday Breakfast Cupcakes” ~ AKA blueberry muffins with cream cheese “frosting” on top, and tie a half dozen balloons to her chair and we’ll be ready to go….as soon as I pick myself up off the floor at the thought of my baby turning 7!

This entry was posted in Celebrations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another Birthday Shirt

  1. Oh my. I wish I had a little girl to make a party for. I can make that shirt for my granddaughter K. So cute.

  2. Megan Berry says:

    The matching headband is the perfect accessory! So cute! I use Old Navy shirts for quick applique projects, too…stock up on ’em while they’re cheap is my motto!

  3. Kristen Tivadar says:

    love this tee! it is adorable. i bought some heat and bond today (have never used it). the store also sold no-sew permanent heat and bond…have you ever used that? i think i’m going to try it, as my sewing skills are very sub-par. thanks!

  4. feltsocute says:

    I haven’t, but I’m sure it’d be worth a try!

  5. J&Z's Mom says:

    Love the birthday sign! Did you make that or buy it somewhere?

  6. feltsocute says:

    We bought it many years ago and for the life of me I can’t remember where – no where unusual and if I recall it was very inexpensive. Sorry I can’t be more helpful!

Leave a Reply

