An Organizing Switcheroo

My organizing challenge today was The Linen Closet.

While we are fortunate to have two linen closets right on our bedroom level, like many things in an older home, they are configured very differently than newly constructed versions.  In the two years we’ve lived in this house I’ve often had to empty them and reorganize to keep on top of the constant mess that easily seems to happen.  So as a result, I wasn’t in that bad a shape this morning when I read today’s assignment.

And then genius struck!  I wondered what would happen if I SWITCHED the two closets and saw if the items would better fit in the opposite closets.  Well, duh!  Of course they did and with room to spare!!!  Check this out~

Here’s the narrower closet with all the toiletry bins that perfectly fit, two astride {I bought them a few years ago at Home Goods and love them for this purpose in that they are made of nylon and can easily be wiped clean if a bottle isn’t tightly sealed and leaks ~ not like that’s happened before or anything!}.

I even had plenty of room to line up tons of our tote bags we always seem to need to load up before heading out to a day of activities and save myself from up and down to the attic!

And here’s the wider closet.  I was able to put all of our sheets in the drawers and then fit all of the bathroom and pool towels on the shelves and still have room for a few oddly shaped items!

{I didn’t participate in yesterday’s tupperware organizing assignment because I’m actually on top of this one tiny little area of my life.  And I’m lazy so instead of finding something else to do I sat back on my little tushie and skipped the day.  Shhh….don’t report me to the organizing police, please!}

This entry was posted in Organizing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to An Organizing Switcheroo

  1. cassie says:

    looks amazing! I love the storage containers, the print is so cute! Don’t you love when you have the light bulb moment? Then you kick yourself for not thinking of it sooner. Hope it works well for you!

  2. Jonathan says:

    Tomorrow you can write about decorating holes in the wall from where I banged my head because I couldn’t find anything in the house due to the Switcheroo…. Or you can map out the route I took around the house, up and down the stairs, going into various cabinets and closets just to find some Tylenol…. This is evil.

  3. Toni says:

    Perfect organization!!!

  4. feltsocute says:

    You can handle it honey, I know you can! 🙂

  5. Samantha says:

    Genius! Love it, well done!

  6. Terri says:

    Brilliant move on the switcheroo. Love all the bins🙂

  7. Looks great. You really made a big difference by switching the closets.

  8. Amanda says:

    wow beautiful.. love it!!

  9. Catherine says:

    Genius!🙂 The afters look excellent.

  10. sally says:

    Way to use the space! Those bins are dreamy and your blog header makes me drool. I love felt!🙂

  11. Looks good! I need to get some of those totes….or you could just send me that cute black and pink one and I’ll be set!🙂

  12. feltsocute says:

    LOL, Kristen ~ that’s a new purchase. It’s a Scout bag.

  13. I think it looks great. Love the baskets. Just looking at the totes on the ground… made me wonder if you could put hooks on either side of that wall space where they are.. to get them off the ground and maybe free up a little floor space?
    just always thinking I guess. lol
    I’d love for you to link this to my Organizing mission Monday link party! Hope to see you there. I found you from Domestically Speaking.

Leave a Reply

