Helpful Hints

I’m not feeling very crafty today, so instead I’m going to share two little hints to make life a little better.

The first should be credited completely to my brilliant Cute Husband.  I’m a bath girl.  I love to soak in the tub at night with a good book.  But here’s my new dilemma: I’ve recently switched over from traditional books to a Kindle and while I’ve never actually dropped a book into the bath, I wasn’t going to chance it with an expensive item like the electronic reader.  So Cute Husband solved this problem for about a penny!

Are you ready for the depths of his genius?

Yep.  That’s a plain, ole’ ziploc bag, with my Kindle inside.  I can easily see the words, and work the buttons, but no worries about any splash or water damage!  :)

My other idea for you has actually been 100% vetted, thanks to Little Cutie.  The first time we went to Disney World, I was very nervous about having my then 3 & 6 year olds in such a large, crowded place.  So I made them beaded necklaces on elastic cording.  When we walked into the park the first day, I showed them the badge that all the cast members wore and explained if they were ever lost from us, to simply show them their necklaces.

Somewhere around Day #3, Little Cutie and I were separated for a very scary 5 minutes in a playground area at Universal Studios, but even at age 3, she went right up to a cast member when she didn’t see me and said “Look at my necklace” and within seconds, the cell phone in my pocket rang and we were reunited ~ proof positive this works, LOL!  The Cuties still wear these when we travel through busy airports or head out to large venues for the day.  They don’t mind them, and it gives me a little peace knowing they’ve got them on.

{I ordered my beads online and they no longer carry them, but I have recently seen similar items at places like Michaels}
This entry was posted in Ordinary Days I Love, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Helpful Hints

  1. Adriana says:

    These are both fantastic ideas! I have thought about what to do in the bath and never even thought of a plastic zip bag! Such a great idea. We too lost our four year old at Disney for five minutes. She went straight to a employee and told them our name but didn’t know the phone number. Luckily we knew right where we left her and found her before it came to anything. Next time we will definately be wearing necklaces!

  2. Victoria says:

    I LOVE that necklace idea. I’m bookmarking this, because mines not here yet, but even keeping up with a much younger brother in local places like Wal-mart stresses me out to no end. I can’t imagine how I’ll handle eventual family vacations with my own children.
    Thanks for sharing.

  3. Mama Haas says:

    What great ideas – both will be used in my household🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  4. Kerri says:

    Great ideas! I have used the ziploc idea with my blackberry by the pool.

    I have considered using a sharpie to write my number on my child when we are at the beach…the necklace might be a better choice! lol😉

  5. My son may not wear this necklace, lol, but thank goodness, he knows my cell #.

  6. I LOVE the necklace idea—I am definitely using that one!

  7. Anastacia says:

    that necklace idea is brilliant!

  8. Kerri says:

    oh and btw, your versatile blog has been “awarded” here:
    http://mann17.blogspot.com/2011/01/versatile-blogger.html
    🙂

  9. Missy says:

    The kindle idea is genious! I got one as well and had the same problem! Thanks!

  10. Candice says:

    What great ideas! We are going to Disney this summer and I’ll for sure make my 3 year old a necklace to wear!

Leave a Reply

