Rainbow Order Always Makes Me Happy

I love when a project works.  I mean really works.

Friday I received a postcard in the mail telling me that one of our local charities was doing door to door pick up in our neighborhood on Tuesday morning.  That was the kick in the pants I needed to finally tackle my closet.  So with Big Cutie as my able-bodied assistant, we started with this~

and this

We straightened.  We bagged for donations.  We trashed.  We purchased a few bins on a family expedition to Target.  And my favorite part ~ we rearranged everything into rainbow order by type.  I LOVE being able to easily find anything I want in seconds, now that I know precisely where it is!

Above my hanging clothes, I had room for seldom-used items in large bins, and I tucked a step stool underneath my pants.

I took all my {many} jeans off hangers since they were always bending them and made space on my shelves to fold them in stacks.  I also organized my shirts into “rainbowized” piles of long-sleeved shirts, short-sleeved shirts and polos.  I also found room for a bin with all my scarves and my nebulizer and supplies are all in a cute little storage bag, easily accesible and dust free.

I also finished my shoe box project and got the last ones into boxes and then put more bins above them with seldom used things.

I used inexpensive 3M hooks for all my big chunky necklaces and hope I’ll be inspired to throw them on more often since they’re right there when I’m putting together an outfit.

I then pulled out the purses I tend to use the most this season and make them more accessible than the high shelf in another closet where I usually store them all.  This way, I can quickly make a switch on date night.  I also moved our laundry basket under my pants and lined my boots upright so I they’ll stay in better shape.

Finally, want to know the very best part?  Cute Husband was inspired to tackle HIS closet as well AND we have this all ready for pick up!

This entry was posted in Organizing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rainbow Order Always Makes Me Happy

  1. What a job isn’t it? I’ve been trying to tackle kids rooms, closets and my closet. I am totally getting those 3M hooks for my necklaces, great idea! Looks great by the way, love the wire baskets you used!

    Megan

  2. Cheryl says:

    LOVE your flower purse and wellies! Good job!

  3. Ann says:

    Love it! I have 3m hooks all over my house, and I also love my label maker. Your last post on “function over form” inspire me to organize my closet too – not done yet though. Your closet looks great!

  4. Megan says:

    Rainbow order makes me (and my BFF) happy too! Everyone else just thinks we’re nuts.

  5. Angela says:

    Looks great! I have been wanting to organize my shoes in such a way but have been lazy and failed to do so! Maybe this was some inspiration.

  6. Wow! Now that’s the inspiration I have been looking for! I am a curious person, so I’m wondering what is the turquoise colored bar hanging on the right side in the purse picture (it looks like half of a heart shape?) Just curious! Great job!

  7. feltsocute says:

    I used to do Physical Therapy for my back and neck and it was something they gave me to help work out muscle knots myself. It’s AWESOME – you hold it and “hook it” over your shoulder and find the bad spots. You can buy them at back shops. I highly recommend them! 🙂

  8. Colleen says:

    ahhh, so organized!!! Wish I could inspire my hubby to do his simply by organizing mine. I think I might have to tackle it myself.

    I put my necklaces in my closet and it’s a much better solution. love it!

  9. fuzzylolipop says:

    I love that even the garbage bags have adorable color coordinated tags nicely attached to the handles. You can come and play in my closet anytime!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

