Lovely Lampshades

We’re about five months into this Blog and if there’s one thing that should be clear by now it’s that I have quite a fondness for monograms and initials.  I tend to look at things as simply blank canvases for adding a little personalization.  Or as Cute Husband says ~ nothing is safe in our house!

And lampshades are no exception.

I recently needed a new lamp in my craft studio/office and lasted a whole two weeks before its blandness got to me and I had to do something about it.  I’ve attacked personalized lampshades before ~

Now for all my mad stashes of crafting supplies and assorted goodies I do NOT have a Silhouette or any other sort of vinyl cutter, so I do these projects by hand with a brush.

The first step is to simply choose a font and print it out at whatever size you’d like.  Because I was working with a floor lamp, I needed a big initial, so I used Bell MT at 680.

Cut a little closer around your letter and then use blue painter’s tape to tape it snuggly to the inside of your lampshade.

Then take a soft lead pencil and lightly trace your letter directly onto the shade.

I then use some basic acrylic paint and a very thin brush.  In my opinion, for a project like this the paint isn’t nearly as important as the brush.  This is probably a bottle I grabbed at Michael’s when they were on special for less than $1 per bottle, but the brush is a pricey Windsor Newton that I’ve had for at least a dozen years and holds it’s shape and the actual paint really well.

At this point, all you need to do is simply paint inside the lines!  My advice is to err on the side of a little more paint rather than too little on your brush, so that you get a nice clean line along your edges.  If this is your first time doing a project like this, take a piece of poster board and staple it into the lampshade drum shape and practice painting at this kind of an angle and in the lines.

I always think a shade needs a little more than just the initial or monogram so I play around with different trims and ribbons.  Because I chose such a large initial, and my actual lamp base was fairly modern, I wanted a simple and smaller trim.  I chose a narrow grosgrain ribbon and measured around the top and the bottom with about a half inch extra {remember to measure these separately as they will be different sizes!}.  I then used my hot glue gun, putting a very small bead of hot glue every two inches or so.

At the very end of your ribbon, first add a dot of glue to the end and fold it over to give yourself a nice little hem and then glue it over where you started {Start and end your trim gluing at the seam already on your lampshade and be sure to have this be on the back when paint your letter!}.

Ta Da!  The project probably took me about 45 minutes to do everything up to finishing the painting one night and then about 15 more minutes to add on the trim the next night.  Not bad.  Although I should be clear and mention to all my ardent admirers and family members out there following this Blog that should the thought of what would make a perfect gift for my impending 40th birthday this year be keeping you up at night, I would be happy to reassure you that I’m fairly certain this would have taken about 30 seconds with a Silhouette.  I’m just sayin’.

Linked to:
Creative Jewish Mom, Be Different Act Normal, The CSI Project, So You Think You’re Crafty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, The Girl Creative, Keeping it Simple, Between Naps on the Porch, Craft-O-Maniac, The DIY Showoff, Skip to My Lou, Tip Junkie, Hope Studios, Today’s Creative Blog, Coastal Charm, Sugar Bee, Not Just a Housewife, All Thingz Related, These Creative Juices, Blue Cricket Design, My Backyard Eden, Sew Much Ado, Somewhat Simple, The Shabby Chic Cottage, Paisley Passions, Everyday Tastes, It’s a Hodgepodge Life, Fun to Craft, Fingerprints on the Fridge, A Few of My Favorite Things, Tidy Mom, My Romantic Home, Bread & Butter 143, Tatertots & Jello
This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Decorating and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Lovely Lampshades

  1. Nicole says:

    Love it!! I love the monograms as well…we have them all over the house, people probably think we’re strange;o)

  2. Cute Husband says:

    I had a dream that I woke up to find you above me with a glue gun in hand, prepared to glue a large “G” to my forehead… Nothing is safe.

  3. Laurel says:

    Looks great…I have a couple of shades that need some “love” too…I’ve been chicken but after seeing yours I think I’m ready to go for it🙂 Thanks, Laurel@chippingwithcharm

  4. meettheswans says:

    What a great idea! Love the look of the lampshade! When we re-do our bedroom later this year I am definitely going to incorporate this!

  5. Noelle says:

    Great post, I love finding new ways to personalize.

    I have to say, your manicure still looks great! So, where do you buy gel nail polish? I noticed it in the other post and tried to look it up and it’s pretty confusing, uv/non-uv…Can you only have it done at the salon?

  6. feltsocute says:

    I get it done at a little local salon {but I have no idea if it exists to do yourself since I’m so bad at that it never crossed my mind, LOL}.

  7. danyele says:

    very nice! love the paint idea!!!

  8. Lynda says:

    I LOVE IT! So simple. So chic and on trend!
    THX for sharing over at Susan’s BNOTP link party!😀 Lynda

  9. Megan Berry says:

    I, too, covet a silhouette and your subtle hints are cracking me up. You did a great job without that modern convenience!

  10. Miranda says:

    I’m in love with your lamp shade. I’m a monogramming fanatic, too. Check my blog out and you’ll see. I really enjoyed reading your post, too. You have an entertaining way of writing. I actually found myself giggling a little while I was reading it. I’m going to start following you. I can’t wait to read your next one!

    Miranda
    http://www.justdrinkacoke.blogspot.com

  11. Brook says:

    So cute! I haven’t ever tried to monogram anything! Maybe I will give it a try that shade looks awesome!

  12. claire rose says:

    Hope all your family is listening!!lol!! Love the monogram-I will def have to try it-I’m a follower-stop by for a isit! Claire

  13. Laurel says:

    This is such a great home project! I’d love to have you submit this to the M&T Spotlight: http://www.makeandtakes.com/spotlight.

  14. Teri says:

    Very cute, and your husband’s comment (above) is hysterical! He sounds like my boyfriend! 🙂

  15. Pammypam says:

    I just might borrow this. Thanks!

  16. Kristina says:

    I LOVE this! And your birthday hints cracked me up! I’ve been hinting around here too🙂

  17. I love this! Thanks for the tips. I just bought a couple lampshades on clearance at Target last weekend and thought “Hmmm, I wonder what I can do with these?” Great inspiration!

  18. Suzie says:

    Very classy look!

  19. Amanda says:

    Love this idea. I have been looking for a lampshade to fit a base I bought for my daughter’s room. Now I’m thinking that I should just make one.🙂

  20. I’m a monogram fanatic too! Love this project!

  21. Jen Campbell says:

    Like so many others it seems, I too love to monogram! I love my last name and the letter C and love to c it on stuff…lol! I don’t own any kind of fancy smancy pattern making machine so I do all my stuff via the computer and printer and trusty hands. I have been wanting to monogram my lampshades for sometime but they are a funny shape and according hubby we have to much personalization in our house………..psssh NOT POSSIBLE! Anyway love your shade thanks so much for sharing!!!
    Come check me out http://organizedcleandesign.blogspot.com/

  22. It's a Keeper says:

    Hi! I host a weekly blog hop — It’s a Keeper Thursdays. I’d love for you to stop by and link up!

    Thanks!
    Christina @ It’s a Keeper
    http://www.everydaytastes.com/
    http://twitter.com/itsakeeperblog
    http://www.facebook.com/ItsAKeeper

  23. anna see says:

    I just love this! Searching frantically for a shade that needs a “D” on it!🙂

  24. Nicole says:

    Wow! That looks so professional!

    We’d love to have you link up to our party!

    http://breadandbutter143.blogspot.com/2011/02/look-what-we-found.html

  25. Lisa Hogan says:

    Very Nice Redesign! I see that personalizing with initials is so popular right now. What an inexpensive and easy way to get the look. Love IT!

  26. Love the lampshades, they look so nice especially the G monogrammed one. Thanks for sharing!

  27. Kim says:

    I can’t imagine the steady hand you have to paint that in such straight lines!🙂 It looks fabulous! I really love your kitchen too…the green paint, the subway tile, it’s gorgeous.

  28. Can you please tell me where you bought the lampshade with the pink monogram with green ribbon? I have been looking everywhere for one like that. It is paper right?

  29. feltsocute says:

    It’s a fabric shade I bought several years at Target and then painted on and punched holes and threaded ribbon through.

  30. Pingback: Home DIY’s! « LIVLIG

  31. Pingback: Great Ideas - DIY Inspiration {2}

Leave a Reply

