A Special Friend and My Dear Lilly P

So let me tell you what happened to me this week.

The other night UPS arrived with a big box late at night.  Cute Husband asked me what I’d ordered now {the man knows me so well!}.  I told him I hadn’t ordered a thing, but I looked at the shipping tag, and said wait a minute ~ King of Prussia, PA ~ that’s Lilly Pulitzer.  Which resulted in immediate eye-rolling on the part of Cute Husband that I am that intimate with the city, state and zip of my favorite store’s headquarters.  Yes.  Yes, I am, thank you very much.

I open the box and there’s a card that says:

Happy Early Birthday from your friends at Lilly Pulitzer!

Ummmm…..I know I’ve discussed my impending 40th ad nauseum on my blog, but I’m pretty sure the good folks at Lilly aren’t devoted readers.  At this point, as I’m looking puzzled and beginning to open the packages, Cute Husband tells me to call my friend M.

Let me first tell you all about M.  She is probably the most amazing woman I know.  She has two beautiful sons, one of which has very serious medical issues, and a few years ago she beat cancer.  She is a devoted wife, mother and friend, and does it all with grace, a smile and laughter.  On my greatest days I don’t think I have a wee bit of her strength.  She is ALWAYS thinking about other people.

So it really shouldn’t have stunned me as much as it did to have learned that M decided she wanted to get me something from Lilly for my birthday.  But she wanted it to be super special and not just something anyone could buy.  So she contacted Lilly directly and asked them to help her get me something no one else would have yet and told them what a huge Lilly fan I am {is that an understatement or what?}.

And because I am so flipping lucky to have the amazing M as my girlfriend who went so out of her way to make something fabulous happen and because Lilly Pulitzer probably has the best customer service EVER, check out what arrived {and you better look at MY pictures, because these aren’t even on the website yet!}

Won’t that be fun all spring and summer? {and yes, I’m wearing a Lilly hoodie this morning, LOL!}  And I can totally picture serving cocktails on the patio or loading up the s’mores supplies to bring out to the firepit in summertime on this tray!

As always, I am blessed to have the people I do in my life.  And I’m so happy M is just a babe in the woods and I have many more years before her 40th to even remotely come up with something as special!

 

 

This entry was posted in Celebrations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Special Friend and My Dear Lilly P

  1. Michelle says:

    How sweet! She sounds like an amazing woman! Happy Early birthday. I just had my 40th in September. Welcome to the club!

  2. Wendybv says:

    I love that tray! Happy early birthday! I found my daughter a Lilly Pulitzer dress at the thrift store for $2!

  3. feltsocute says:

    Now THAT’S a score. Way to go! I usually find them both a bunch of Lilly things at Marshalls and/or TJ Maxx now that we’re coming up on the “season” but never for only $2!

Leave a Reply

