Glamour Girl

From the moment we moved into this house I knew the chandelier in the dining room had to go.

The lines were all wrong, she was too small, hung too high and it was too much crystal for my taste.

I looked for almost three years for her replacement before I finally had any luck.  There were always other projects that took priority, those pesky Cuties kept outgrowing their shoes, or I simply couldn’t find what I wanted.  And then smack in the middle of Passover seder cooking Cute Husband asked if I wanted to go to chandelier shopping.

I kid you not.

So with my matzoh balls a simmerin’, and my apron practically still on, we hopped in the car.  And finally, kismet!  The chandelier I’d been eyeing online for over a year was half off and Cute Husband loved it, too!

Check her out.  Ain’t she grand?

She’s the perfect blend of antiqued gold, a little bling and grander size for the room.  And we added a big medallion to give her even more “oomph!”

It’s OK that I keep walking by the dining room and turning the switch on and off if I know it’s silly, right?

And don’t think that sparkly little miss is off to the dumpster.  Stay tuned to see where she pops up…..

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Glamour Girl

  1. Colleen says:

    Very pretty. Not silly at all. I had to turn our new outside lanterns on just so I could see them when I came up the driveway. Our new chandelier is being shipped soon too! I have had our brass one for 3 years too many!

  2. Carrie says:

    Beautiful! Looks perfect in your dining room. I had to comment to tell you that I have the EXACT same chandelier as your old one. It was my husband’s mothers (who died when he was young) but it’s not my taste at all. It is however following us where ever we live. So I may be stuck with it for life. It looks nice immediately after being cleaned, but only stays that way for a week or so. It’s a dust magnet!

  3. WOW!!!! It’s so gorgeous!!! Thanks for stopping by and for your sweet comment about my baby girl’s room. Your home is SO beautiful!

Leave a Reply

