Comfort Food

It’s raining for like the 362nd day in a row, which means I’ve had that many bad hair days. The black dog is turning brown from mud, and I’ve forgotten what my cute painted toes look like since I’m back to wearing socks.  Clearly I’m in need of some comfort food.

Ingredients:

1 lb asparagus {trimmed & cut into 1″ pieces}, 1 lb spinach fettuccine {linguine or spaghetti will work fine too if that’s all your store has – you can see in my photo I used linguine last minute!},3 tbsp butter, 1 c heavy cream, grated zest of one lemon {best zester ever!}, 6 ounces smoked salmon cut into thin strips, 1/4 c snipped chives {use kitchen shears, not a knife!}, 1/4 c chopped parsley {definitely use fresh for this recipe}, 3 tbsp caperssalt & pepper to taste

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and add your asparagus {you thought I was going to say your pasta, didn’t you?}.  Cook for about 4 minutes for thick asparagus and 2+ minutes for the really thin stuff.  Scoop it out and run it under cold water to stop the cooking and set it aside {a bamboo wok skimmer is perfect for this}.  Now add your pasta and cook according to the package directions.

Meanwhile, melt your butter in a large skillet over medium heat and then add your asparagus and coat in the butter.  Doesn’t that look pretty?

Now add your cream and lemon zest and stir until heat thoroughly.

Drain your pasta and combine the pasta and asparagus and sauce.  Add salmon, chives, parsley, capers, salt and pepper and combine.

I have to serve The Cuties this dish even though they are capable of serving themselves at their ages.  If I don’t they pick out all the salmon and capers.  Little stinkers!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Comfort Food

  1. Colleen says:

    I feel your pain. Enough already with this rain. This looks really good!

  2. Please send the rain down to Texas. The drought is awful, the wildfires are frightening, we’ll happily take your excess. 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    This sounds delicious! As I read your post, listening to the thunder and pouring rain, I am wondering if I have all the ingredients to make this myself =)

    Found your blog via a scrapbook blog, I believe. Links…I get lost following the trail, but I enjoy your posts and get inspired by many of your projects – thanks for sharing your ideas!

Leave a Reply

