Goodbye, Dear Friend

The moving van pulled away this afternoon, filled with boxes destined for storage, air and sea cargo.  I confess I’m having a hard time saying goodbye to the old gal.

There’s so much we’ve loved about this house.  It was the first place we dared to whisper that elusive phrase, forever home.  

I imagined popping a heated tent in the backyard and all our family and friends walking the block from our synagogue to a Bat Mitzvah reception here instead of a random hotel ballroom.

I imagined my Cuties as big girls, walking down the big staircase, past six generations of photographed relatives to waiting nervous Prom dates.

I even imagined my babies bringing their babies to visit me in this house because that meant coming back home.

And then one fateful day, Cute Husband asked me a question I’d never even thought to imagine.  About packing up our lives and moving to another continent and experiencing the adventure of a lifetime as a family.  And it occurred to me that this house was just a place, and that all my dreams were about the people in my life and not about the place where we lived.  And that these three people, they were my home and my everything, and that I would be happy being anywhere in the world with them.

But that’s not going to get them out of having to help me unpack!

This entry was posted in Adventures, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Goodbye, Dear Friend

  1. pam says:

    So crazy. Your new life will be full if adventure and yummy sushi! So glad we get almost a full week with u before it all begins.

  2. Heather says:

    You & your family amaze me! It takes some special & courageous people to pack up & travel across the world to start a new adventure! Can’t wait to continue to see all that unfolds for you all!

  3. I just started to read your blog last week. I know that you’re going to Japan but is it for a very long time? I mean years and years? This will be an amazing experience for all of you, especially the girls. That doesn’t mean that moving doesn’t hurt especially if you felt that your house was your forever home. I wish all of you my best and that your move goes smoothly.🙂

  4. feltsocute says:

    We’re going for a minimum of 2 years and then we’ll see what we think!

  5. gena says:

    Have a wonderful, safe trip to your NEW home…. You’re with your “forever home”. As Billy Joel once said ” when ever we’re together, you’re my home…”

    Looking forward to tagging along on your Japanese Adventure !

    gena

  6. Pam says:

    Looks like you are going to be continuing your postings from Japan? I HOPE SO! Love to see if you go to any of the places we loved! So exciting–so stressful–so overwhelming–so fantastic–to experience this adventure together as a family. An amazing opportunity for you all. Can you believe how clean everything is there? The cars? Let me know if you see even one dirty car, ok?

  7. Azelia says:

    This is so crazy…I am super excited to have found your blog. My husband and I and our 3 (soon to be 4) kiddos are planning on moving somewhere in Asia once he is done university (in 3 years).
    We plan on staying for 2 to 4 years! I look forward to reading more about your adventures!

Leave a Reply

