Oh Dreidel, Dreidel, Dreidel!

I am so excited about my new Hanukkah wreath, I’m spinning in circles.

You know, like a dreidel.

Hardy har har.

I first thought of this idea while we were living in Tokyo, but knew it would be cost-prohibitive to ship the supplies to me in Japan and well, you know ~ there aren’t exactly a lot of local dreidel shops in Minami Azabu.

So now that we are back in America and Hanukkah is just around the corner, I knew this was the first crafting project I wanted to tackle.

So here’s what you need for this project!

A wreath form {I used a styrofoam one because it was cheap and the right size, but wrapped straw would work fine, too}, glue gun & glue sticks, ribbon {I bought mine at Michael’s on Black Friday for 70% off ~ how many of you were there scooping up rolls and rolls, too?}, and about 150 small dreidels!

wreathsupplies

I loved the selection of metallic ones at ChocolateGelt.com and put together a custom order in royal blue, turquoise and silver.  Aren’t they so pretty?!!!

dreidels

I first wrapped the wreath in my ribbon.  This is an important step for two reasons: first, it covers the ugly green styrofoam and prevents it from showing on the project and second, it will give you a bit of a base so that the hot glue doesn’t melt the styrofoam.  I kept the ribbon on the roll as I wrapped it and used approximately 18 feet on my 14 inch form.

IMG_3909

Then I simply started hot gluing dreidels in a random fashion all around the wreath form.  I mixed colors, directions and of course letters on the dreidels!

dreidelsonwreath

It took a while to cover the whole form, but this is an easy project to do while watching a movie or to work on a little bit at a time.

finishedwreath

All those dreidels make me so happy!

closeupdreidels

And one more peek ~

sidewreath2

And because I over-ordered as always, I have plenty of leftover dreidels.  So now I’m wondering what else I can cover in tons and tons of dreidels!

Linked to:

Creative Jewish Mom, Nesting Place

This entry was posted in Craft Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Oh Dreidel, Dreidel, Dreidel!

  1. Laurie says:

    Oooo!!! the snow is back! Makes my heart smile.

  2. Lynn Cooper says:

    So very CLEVER, my friend! I love it! The colors are fantastic! And as far as the leftover dreidels… how about covering a collection of styrofoam balls to place in a giant glass vase or a big bowl.

  3. msumissa says:

    Absolutely 100% full of awesome! That is so fantastic! LOVE IT. Of course I will be singing the Dreidel song in my head all day long now… Wonderful decoration! I would use the left overs in a big bowl or as confetti on the table.

  4. it is a lovely wreath but what is a dreidel ???

  5. Condo Blues says:

    So pretty! Do you have any tall flower vases? I can see three in a grouping of various sizes filled with shiny little dreidels.

  6. Lisa says:

    Maybe the extra dreidels can be used as cupcake toppers? Or just placed in a small glass vase on a mantle?

  7. Julie says:

    Gorgeous!

  8. Gretchen says:

    Love this!

  9. Pingback: Hanukkah - from Grammy's Heart, with Love

  10. Naomi says:

    Hello! Loved your project so much that we placed an order for dreidels to make a wreath! Did notice when they arrived that there is quite a bit of “over spray” on the cute little dreidels and wondered if yours were the same. One side totally shiny but others looking kind of matte. Hope you see this post and can reply. Thanks thanks for the inspiration!

  11. feltsocute says:

    I did not notice anything like that and had multiple bags of them in the different colors.

  12. Karen says:

    I would like to know if you used 100 dreidels total? of 100 of each color total dreidels 300? Would I be good if I bought 30 of all 3 colors total 90 dreidels. Thank you so much. I love this idea and cannot wait to start working on it!

  13. feltsocute says:

    I actually bought 100 each of each of the three colors. However, I absolutely did not use them all for the wreath. I would estimate I used about 125 (give or take) in total.

Leave a Reply

