Lilly Pulitzer for Target Postmortem

We all know I love me some Lilly Pulitzer.

So it was with great anticipation that I waited for Sunday, April 19 for the Lilly Pulitzer collaboration with Target.

Lilly

Like seriously great anticipation.  Marked in big letters and highlighted on my calendar.

We had a family game plan – we were going to all go early on Sunday morning together and then out to breakfast.  And then around 11:45 as I was getting ready for bed it occurred to me perhaps it would be easier to buy online instead.  So I double-checked my account was all set up and ready to go and waited.

And no luck.  After more than an hour of refreshing {while searching Pinterest ~ I am nothing if not a multitasker!}, I gave up and went to bed.  And then because I’m old, I had to use the bathroom around 3 am as usual, and tried again.  First time, nothing.  And then the second time ~ victory was mine!

I popped the items I wanted for The Cuties and our home in my basket and tried to checkout.  With no luck.  So I continued trying.  After about a half an hour it was clear the system was completely crashed and I gave up and went to bed.

We’re early risers in the Felt So Cute household, so around 7 am I got up and opened my laptop.  Everything in my cart was sold out, as was basically everything online at Target.

Bummer.

I asked Big Cutie if she wanted to give it a go and we headed to our nearest Target.

We arrived at the store at about 8:06 where the shelves were bare.

Completely.

As we made our way around the store, we were able to pick up an abandoned headband and makeup bag or two here and there, but what we saw is what I really want to talk about.

Greed.

Women with carts piled with ten of the same item.

Women with carts filled with what was clearly an entire rack of clothing in assorted sizes.

Women standing over salespeople as they opened additional stock boxes, grabbing whatever they could and throwing the packing onto the floor.

Big Cutie and I were appalled.

What about taking what you could use yourself and leaving some for the next person?  What about sharing?  What about basic manners and common courtesy to the employees who were surrounded by hoards of shoppers grabbing around them?

I’ve read online all day as people complained and bad-mouthed Lilly Pulitzer and Target, but I have no issue with either of them.

I’m disappointed with the shoppers.

It was awful and shameful.

The good news was that I had some great conversations with my daughter.  We talked about why it’s better to have a few things we love as opposed to dozens of things just because.  We talked about quality versus quantity.  And we talked about how we just didn’t want to be the kind of people who threw elbows and were rude to the strangers next to us over some pink and green beach towels.

I love Lilly because it makes me smile but today I felt sad to be hanging out with the prepsters.

This entry was posted in Ordinary Days I Love and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Lilly Pulitzer for Target Postmortem

  1. I agree with you A. What a shameful display of where our culture has gone. The same thing happened when my fave- Missoni- collaborated. All for sale on EBay the next day at 4x mark up. For shame….

  2. Chantal says:

    It was the same way here in Charleston! Lilly was gone in 10 minutes, and apparently there was a huge line of people waiting to get in the store when they opened. The sales people said ladies were throwing racks of items in their carts, probably to sell on eBay. I came home and told my hubby that I would so much rather pay for something at the Lilly store than to shop amongst people like that! Such a turn-off. And by the way, I went to target at 9:30, and I fully expected to walk in and see a bunch of cute Lilly items everywhere lol!! I think the conversation you had with your daughter is wonderful…a message we all need to keep in mind more often🙂

  3. Kay says:

    I Saw one of the dresses on EBay for 90 this morning. It is ridiculous how people have acted.

  4. Gretchen says:

    You are so right. Nothing – no THING – is worth that nonsense. No THING is worth the rudeness. You are setting a great example for the Cuties and they re turning out to be beautiful people!

  5. Deborah S. says:

    Same scenario here in North Carolina. Check ebay and you will see a lot of those items already for sale at a huge markup. The stores should have put a limit on the number of each item you could purchase, same as they did online. Nice that you turned a sad situation into a learning experience for your daughter!

  6. Lisa says:

    West Palm Beach was the same. I had no luck online last night so I thought I’d brace the store. We got there at 7:30 and were behind probably 75 people. When the doors opened, everyone ran for the racks and the front of the line grabbed most of the women’s dresses and ran to the check out. 20 minutes later they were selling the dresses in the parking lot!! Just disgusting! Needless to say, my much anticipated Day of purchases was a bummer. We were able to get a phone case, jumpsuit, and shirt.

  7. Caroline Kron says:

    The same thing happened at the Waterford CT Target. I overheard the sales lady say she got pushed almost to the ground as women stockpiled the merchandise. So sad-this would have been a great opportunity for some to own some Lilly who may otherwise not be able to pay the boutique prices.

  8. Nancy K. says:

    This is better than ANYTHING you could have written about the products themselves. Thank you for starting this conversation.

  9. Nancy K. says:

    P.S. After reading your post and all the comments above, I feel as though all of the Target/Lilly collaboration items are tainted. Who would want them under these ugly circumstances?

  10. Misty S. says:

    Ugh, how awful. These people hoarding stuff to throw on Ebay. I’m not even sure what Lilly is (LOL) but I’ve seen it with other stuff, too. Will they get more stock in? Is there anything particular you are looking for? Tho, I guess they’d probably be out of all the targets. I could check the ones down here in Derby, Milford, Orange, Trumbull area…

  11. msumissa says:

    Same thing happened here in MI, it was so sad. There was a few little girl sun dresses and some XXL pants, but that was it. Nothing. The cashier said people were in line at 6:00 AM. Honestly, I would rather have the real thing than something most likely made out of lower quality materials.

  12. Suzanne says:

    Everything was gone here in St. Louis in ten minutes and we saw some ugly behavior too. I could barely get a hand on anything–I bee-lined it to the home store, where I hoped to get a hammock and outdoor pillows. I was most interested in housewares because that is the Lilly you really can’t get year-round. Along the way I got quickly a few things for my girls (though the kids were pretty much demolished). There were two things I didn’t think would fit later, so I passed them on to two people who actually both hugged me ( so we saw the sweet side of people as well)! Karma smiled on me and even though everything was gone when I got back there, somehow there was one hammock sling in the back that came out and I scored. Not a big haul but I love it!

  13. Condo Blues says:

    I thought this time around Target was limiting what people could buy so they could avoid the madness when they release a special collection? By now Target knows special collections sell out in minutes after the store opens and immediately shows up on eBay. Sadly the same thing happened with Lily.

  14. Ashley says:

    Excellent. Very well said. My thoughts exactly. What a disgrace to the Lilly name; I though we were a classier bunch. I’ll be linking to this post in my write up about the experience. Thanks for sharing!

  15. KristinaF says:

    I went to our store this morning expecting it to be gone. The racks were still full here in all of the departments. We must be far enough away from the craze of all of it (southern AZ). I only bought a scarf for myself today. Tomorrow I’m hoping to head back and get a dress for my daughter and 2 more scarfs (cover ups for my girls).

  16. KristinaF says:

    I went back the next day. The scarves were all gone. As were most of the girls dresses and the same with the ladies stuff. I didn’t look for the rest, but I was sad since I love my scarf and wanted matching ones for my girls. Oh well.

  17. Pam says:

    Yours was the best take I’ve read/heard on this whole debacle. Thanks for saying what needed to be said.

  18. Dana says:

    Makes me sad how greedy and awful people are these days….no regard for anyone else. Sorry you didn’t get to get some pieces…..

Leave a Reply

