At Least We’ve Got Our Health

I’ve had a rough summer.

So much so that I stayed away from the blog until I could figure out what to write that was anything other than whining about what had happened.

I think I’m finally there.

In July, I put The Cuties on the plane to summer camp and began what I thought was going to be four weeks of hard work on the New Old House.  I had plans to paint rooms, sew window treatments and finish unpacking.  I had plans with The Husband to see Broadway shows in New York, eat meals in restaurants with hard-to-get reservations and spend quality time together.

Instead, three days after they left I ended up with such a severe case of Shingles that I was hospitalized for 8 days.  And while in the hospital I had a reaction to the IV medication and could no longer tolerate the smaller needle in my forearms and so a PICC line was placed in my upper arm.  And about a week after my release from the hospital, I realized all was not right with my arm where the PICC line had been and soon discovered I had a large blood clot.  And so I began a three-month long course of blood thinners and had to go off other medications I have been taking for years that were contra-indicated for clot risks.  And as a result, became so anemic I literally became gray.  I was able to negotiate my way out of blood transfusions and received a few iron infusions instead and am receiving additional medication monthly by intramuscular injections.  And in November, I will have surgery that will hopefully wrap all of this up.

“Rough” is a bit of an understatement.  I have been fairly angry at not just ruined plans but my inability to do much of anything at all.

Then today, while feeling better post nap {still, unfortunately a daily necessity}, I tackled a two-foot tall pile of decades-old medical files and insurance claims for the family.  I sorted and shredded for hours and hours.

In doing so, I came across two important sets of documents: the first was my initial year’s worth of doctor’s notes, colonoscopy results and pharmacy receipts for my Crohn’s Disease diagnosis.  The second was Big Cutie’s write-up from the neurologist at 13 months and her first Physical Therapy assessment.

I realized that there have been many times in my life where serious illnesses and conditions could have ruined plans.  Not just for a summer, but forever changed things.

And I no longer feel angry.

In fact, I feel blessed to have my health.  Our health.

Because I know this will pass.

Because my Crohn’s Disease is under control and I don’t flare regularly and end up hospitalized like so many other patients.

Because on an ordinary day like today Big Cutie went to school, rode a horse, came home and had a dance party in the living room.  And based on that set of documents I re-read tonight, I am reminded that we could have had many different scenarios that didn’t put us in nearly as cheerful a place.

So while I’ve had a rough summer, I’m good.  We’re good.  It’s all good.

And I’ve got three garbage bags of shredded documents to prove it.

This entry was posted in Ordinary Days I Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to At Least We’ve Got Our Health

  1. valerie struski says:

    so sorry to hear about your summer, but very happy to see you back.

  2. Pony says:

    Love you sweet friend, and your proper perspective. I had no idea you’d had such a rough go, but I’m glad you are headed back to health and happiness. Xo

  3. Christy says:

    Girl – I had no idea! I’m so glad you are on the tail end of it. Here’s to a HEALTHY & HAPPY new year for you & your family! Love ~ Christy

  4. So glad things are on the mend. Let’s hope that the rest of 2015 is less drama filled! *hugs*

  5. Laurie says:

    Having a bit of a cry on your behalf.😉 Beautifully written and a beautiful perspective. Thank you for sharing.

  6. Jonathan says:

    My favorite post so far…. Love JGG

    >

  7. Gretchen says:

    You popped into my mind recently (No, we don’t know each other in “real life) but I did think of you – and how I missed reading your blog. I am glad you are on the mend now, but I am so sorry you have had such a rough summer. I hope you had a real life support system like family and friends to help you – no one can get through that nasty stuff alone. Your virtual friends are out here too – wishing you only the best! And you have a wonderful positive outlook, so it’s all good from here! Speedy healing!

  8. msumissa says:

    Thinking of you! I was just figuring that you were so busy re-assimilating that life got in the way of the blog. I am sorry to hear it was so much more. Hopefully things will resolve well and you will be feeling like yourself in no time!

  9. Susan S. says:

    Wishing your lovely family a lifetime of good health and cheer. So happy for your positivity. Take care Alisha.

  10. Arlene says:

    Yes, you had a miserable summer, but you have a great attitude! That is special!

  11. Julie says:

    Oh, my…this actually brought tears to my eyes! I am so sorry for your bad fortune with this. Heavens. Please take care of yourself…you mean the world to a lot of folks! Sending love from south Florida! How did the girls like camp?

  12. Trisha M says:

    Beautifully written – very grateful for the post and your perspective. So glad you are at the tail end of this journey

Leave a Reply

