Nightstand Neatness

Let’s just get right to it.

My nightstand is always a hot mess.

If I’m honest with myself it’s a combination of being totally blind in the middle of the night when searching for something and shoving too much in there in an attempt to clear off the top before bed so I don’t knock things over in the middle of the night because of the aforementioned blindness.

nightstandbefore

First of all, I don’t even know when the last time I used a safety-pin, let alone why there’s a box of them in the drawer, and second, I’ve got things in there like my most recent jewelry appraisal and the business card of a former neighbor.  I can think of about four other places that make more sense for those items than my nightstand drawer.  I can’t even remember how those things ended up in my bedroom let alone in the drawer!

So like every proper organizing project, I emptied the drawer and sorted items into three piles: trash, keep and put away elsewhere.  The trash and put away piles far outweighed the keep in the drawer pile, and I was left with just the essentials.

I decided to take a page from my newly organized kitchen and use dividers in my drawers to help make a place for everything.  I have used these Drawer Organizers before and am very pleased with the quality.  They are a good option when corralling items that aren’t messy and would need to be wiped down on a regular basis.

bambootrays

I was able to divide out my items into their own compartments, so now I can easily grab what I need: Kindle, remote controls, glasses/reading glasses, inhaler, pad & pens, chapstick, cough drops, mints, and pony tail holders.

organizednightstand

There are two more drawers to my nightstand, but for some reason they stay neat.  I’m strange, I know.  They hold all sorts of small travel bags such as jewelry pouches, makeup bags and shoe bags.  I have a ridiculous number of these, but just as I’m ready to whittle down my stash, The Cuties are old enough to start needing all of these too, so suddenly my plentiful stash comes in handy when packing for the three of us.

Look how nice and clean my nightstand surface is now!

cleannighstand

{interested in making your own framed monogram? check it out here!}

This entry was posted in Organizing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nightstand Neatness

  1. Jonathan says:

    Nice post!!

    Cough drops is a tag?

    L u

    >

  2. feltsocute says:

    In my world it is, LOL!

Leave a Reply

