Gelt Napkin Rings

I like setting a pretty table.

I like setting a pretty table for the holidays.

I sometimes like setting a pretty table more than I like cooking the actual meal.

And sometimes I don’t.

It’s good to keep my family on their toes.😉

Hanukkah started last night and I thought our table needed something a little festive for the occasion.  I had seen these baggies of faux gelt at Michael’s a few times now but hadn’t figured what to do until I saw them 50% off this week {love when my Eureka! moment coincides with a clearance sale}.

So here’s what I came up with ~

hanukkahrings

And here’s all you need to make them: elastic, scissors, hot glue gun & glue sticks, a ruler {or eyeball it!}, a stapler and faux gelt ~

supplies

{yes, I still have random craft supplies leftover from Japan with no idea why I purchased it in the first place, thank you very much!}

Cut the elastic to approximately 8 inches depending on how stretchy it is.

rulerelastic

Then staple it into a circle, overlapping about one inch.  I stapled each ring a few times.

stapling

Then hot glue your faux gelt around the elastic, slightly overlapping each piece.  I found it best to slip the elastic ring around a cup to hold the round shape of a napkin ring.  If you don’t do this, you end up with more of a square shape since the faux gelt is rigid.  Be sure to cover your stapled area with one of the pieces!

cupexample

These were quite sturdy when finished {in that children could set the table using them with no risk of them breaking ~ always an important criterion in my book!}.  I know this for a fact, because I made a mistake on one and could not get a piece of the faux gelt off no matter how hard I tried!

ringclose

Chag Sameach everyone!

This entry was posted in Celebrations, Craft Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

