Dear Mr. President

I had a different post planned for today.

Until Little Cutie brought me a letter and asked for my help to send it to the President and distribute it wherever I could so her thoughts might be heard.

And so my first guest blog is brought to you today by my lovely 11 year old daughter ~

Dear Mr. President, politicians, and people of America,

I am eleven years old. When you think about it, it isn’t that long of a time to be on the Earth.  Sure, lots of things have happened in my eleven years, but more things have happened in the time I wasn’t here on Earth than the time I have been.

One of those things was terrible, cruel, and should never have happened; The Holocaust.  The Holocaust killed 6 million Jews and more people from other cultures and religions. I learn about this awful event every year in Hebrew School, which I attend because I am Jewish. Every year I am told why we remember it: to make sure that nothing like that ever happens again.

And yet here we are today, hearing someone running for the most important position in the country talking about banning Muslims from entering America and putting surveillance on mosques.

My best friend is Muslim, and she is one of the best people I know. She is a first-generation American, and I am a third-generation American. Her parents immigrated here and my great-grandparents immigrated here. If Muslims are banned from entering America, then her relatives can’t visit her. Her own family. There are thousands of people in the process of immigrating to America, and more to come. They need homes. They need a safe place, because their homes have become too dangerous to stay in. They are people, just like you and me.

During the Holocaust, people were shunned and put under strict surveillance and rules because of their faith. I don’t want my friend (or anyone else) to have to watch her back while she prays. I don’t want anyone to be afraid to come and try to find a safe haven in America. We are called the Land of the Free. What happened to that name? What happened to liberty?

I know that some terrorists are Muslim.  But that does not mean that all Muslims are terrorists or that all terrorists are Muslim.  There have been people of other religions who have done bad things before and we haven’t talked about trying to keep them out of America.

Though they may not seem connected, we could be on the verge of repeating history. Of telling one group of people that they are not allowed to do something because they are part of said group of people. A single drop of water can cause a ripple, which spreads out and gets larger. Don’t let this be the drop of water.

I love this country. I love the fact that I can go to a school with people that aren’t the same religion or race as me. I can go to school with people who are still learning my language, and with people who have such diverse backgrounds and personalities. I don’t want that to stop. I don’t want other people to not be able to experience this. I love that my friends have different experiences in their lives; it’s what makes us interesting and different.

With experience comes knowledge, and I know that if you extend kindness towards someone who needs it, they will not be cruel towards you. They will return the kindness, and I think that is an amazing feeling. Receiving because you gave. Not gifts like toys and money, but smiles, thank yous, and hugs. If we aren’t kind towards someone, why should we expect them to be kind towards us?

So, with one last plea, I beg of you to speak out against talk of banning Muslims from entering America. It goes against what our country stands for, and is just plain wrong. 

Hoping that we become the Land of the Free again,

Sophie G.

I really have nothing else to say other than That’s our girl.😉

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Dear Mr. President

  1. Julie says:

    Thankyou, Sophie! I’ve gotten teary. You have put into words what I also believe. Thankyou!

  2. valerie struski says:

    11? i would never have guessed it. well done and well said!

  3. Amma says:

    Sophie, I am so proud of you. You continue to be a very caring, wise and special girl! Words cannot express how proud I am of you!

  4. Heather says:

    My niece is one special girl. And her mommy and daddy have done an awesome job!! Love all of you.

  5. Rebecca says:

    Your daughter is turning out to be a compassionate, caring, thinking person. We definitely need more of those in the world. Go, Sophie!

  6. Caroline says:

    Beautifully written!

  7. JulieKP says:

    What a heartfelt plea! I am going to show this to my 11 and 13 year old daughters when they get home from school. They, too, are concerned for this scary turn of events. It’s good to know we are raising a generation of children who can show compassion rather than fear to people who are different than they are. Our future is bright when girls like yours speak from their heart.

  8. msumissa says:

    Bravo! She is a light shining brightly this season! Peace be with you and her!

  9. Heidi says:

    Brought tears to my eyes. Out of the mouth of babes……

  10. megaroonie says:

    Oh, heck YES! That was….. Awesome.

  11. Haley H. says:

    She is such a gem. From the shaving her head for St. Baldrick’s to this letter (which brought tears to my eyes)… very special girl you’ve got there!

  12. Laura Kaplan says:

    What a beautiful and well-written letter. I am so glad you shared your heart with the world. Sophie, you go girl!

  13. María says:

    Chapeau!!

  14. Shelli says:

    That is a wonderful letter. It is very insightful

    Shelli

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

