Teen Airplane Bags

It’s almost Spring Break and that means we are off on an adventure!

The Cuties are truly self-sufficient and amazing international travelers; they schlep their own bags, they entertain themselves in flight, and they manage their own gear.

I do NOT miss the days of the airplane diaper bag bigger than my toddler or performing barf bag puppet theatre.

When I was at the drug store this week picking up a few items for my own travel bag I grabbed some things for them and decided to put together new bags for their carry ons. I found the perfect cases at Bullseye’s Playground at Target {what they used to call the Dollar Spot}.  They’re plastic and cheap, which are pretty much my requirements for things used on airplanes by tweens or teens since there’s a reasonable chance things may explode inside or even be left behind by accident.

I first added each of their names with my Silhouette machine and coordinating vinyl

Sophieplanebag

Leahplanebag

Then I filled it with some essentials for a long flight:

Tylenol

Tums

tissues

socks

chewing gum

breath mints

hand cream

Shout wipes

deodorant

toothbrush & toothpaste

dental picks

spare disposable contact lenses

nail file

planesupplies

There’s still plenty of room in these bags to add in things like glasses and retainers in the morning before we head to the airport.

One of the most valuable lessons I’ve learned in my years of traveling with children is to corral their crap stuff on airplanes, and to keep the number of things you all need to be responsible for to a minimum when jet lag is involved.  Trust me.  Everyone starts off all pleasant and cute and charming, but 16 hours after you left the house in the morning and people don’t remember their names, let alone what they brought on the airplane!

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Teen Airplane Bags

  1. Marysue says:

    So excited for you all. Hope the flights are “easy” — and that you have a really good visit with everyone. What a special time. hugs

  2. avagrace40 says:

    Can I borrow your machine and make me and Arden ones…lol

  3. Diane says:

    Love this! … And my silhouette! If you don’t mind sharing, I’d love to know the font name🙂

  4. feltsocute says:

    It’s Steelheart with a little welding to make it more Silhouette-friendly

Leave a Reply

