Chalk One Up to the Power of Paint!

Commence the eye rolling now, please.

If you’re sitting at your laptop, covered in chalk dust, I think you’re allowed to make a cheesy “chalk” joke.  I’m pretty sure it’s in the universal blogging bylaws.

So one of Little Cutie’s requests for her new room was “some black, somewhere.”  Hmmm….black didn’t really coordinate with the whole fun, silly, Lilly Pulitzer inspiration board thing I had going on until it occurred to me that the odd angled wall in the attic room would be perfect for a chalkboard wall!

After letting the paint dry for the required three days {which let me tell you ~ killed  this household of incredibly impatient people}, I covered the entire wall in chalk.  Seriously, the entire wall.  Every little nook and cranny.  And plaster walls=a LOT of nooks and crannies!

Then I took a dry rag and wiped all the chalk off.  Note to self: this was not the day on which to be wearing my usual black from head to toe.  After doing this we hung the Ikea Fintorp system to hold chalk and an eraser.

I think our budding artiste {seriously people, she drew me a “Picasso” the other day, complete with erratic eyes, misplaced nose and mouth and bold colors.  LOVE this kid!}  will be most excited when she arrives home from school this afternoon.

craft
Linked To:
Tip Junkie, Creating a House of Grace, Today’s Creative Blog, Running with Glitter, Hope Studios, Coastal Charm, Cherished Bliss, Not Just a Housewife, Sew Much Ado, Domestically Speaking, My Backyard Eden, Blue Cricket Design, Momnivore’s Dilemma, Fingerprints on the Fridge, It’s a Hodgepodge Life, Finding Fabulous, Chic on a Shoestring Decorating, My Romantic Home, The Shabby Nest, Tatertots and Jello, Creative Jewish Mom, I Heart Naptime, C.R.A.F.T.
This entry was posted in Decorating, Organizing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Chalk One Up to the Power of Paint!

  1. Colleen says:

    I love it and she is going to love it so much!!! I love the chalk and eraser holder too.

  2. Michelle says:

    love it–my girls LOVE the chalkboard wall in the toyroom! And by the way–did I notice a glimpse of the “rehomed” chandelier???

  3. feltsocute says:

    Nice catch! 🙂

  4. Jackie says:

    so incredibly adorable!! i love this so much 😀 the little one will love this for years to come! found you over at tutorial tuesday, come by for a visit some time!

    Jackie
    http://jaclyndesigns.blogspot.com

  5. Candice says:

    Very Cute! Great job! Here from Today’s Creative Blog!

  6. Ashley says:

    So cute! I love chalkboard paint! I would love for you to share at my party!!

    http://www.cherishedbliss.com/2011/05/craft-and-tell-tuesday-no-5-and-new.html

  7. Debbie says:

    Completely FABULOUS! WOW! My mind is racing now! My dd’s would FLIP OUT if I did something like this for them. Stopped over from TCB!

  8. Corinna says:

    This is fabulous! I love your frames! 🙂

  9. Lizz says:

    I LOVE THIS!! We love making things into chalkboards around here (we even made chalkboard eggs for easter!), but I really love the addition of the ikea buckets, and the art gallery feel. Well done!

  10. Sheila says:

    Love, LOVE it! Wish you could make your marks permanent, and let her draw in and around them! Awesome!

  11. Amy says:

    So cute! I’m impressed by your frame drawings as well! Lucky daughter….
    xoxo

  12. madison says:

    i love love love this idea!!! it is such a great alternative to chalkboards you buy at the store! everybody is using chalk paint…i really want to try it! i think i will have to go buy some now. thanks for this awesome idea oh and i also love the chalk holders. so cute!
    madisonavenue2011.blogspot.com

  13. kathryn says:

    I love chalk paint. so fun. looks great.

    kathryn
    http://www.thedragonsfairytail.blogspot.com

  14. WENDY says:

    This is Fantastic, a labor of LOVE!

  15. sharde says:

    this is so completely adorable! I happen to looove chalkboard paint (well who doesn’t, your inner child just wants to have at it!) Its so cute- i wonder what the little one will draw for you next! just found you through my backyard eden link party today- love it! and your blog name is just cute. 🙂

    thestyleprojects.blogspot.com

  16. Jenna says:

    LOVE this! Great job!

  17. Laurel says:

    Cute, cute, cute 🙂 Laurel@chippingwithcharm

  18. love the meta-factor in this. the gallery within the chalkboard. very cool. pinning this!

    If you have a moment today, please share this with my readers @Creative Juice Thursday Hope to see yours among all the amazing projects!

  19. Kate says:

    This is so cool and fun. I especially love the little buckets to hold the chalk – brilliant! She’s going to love it!

  20. Laura says:

    Really cute, hope you don’t mind I shared it on my facebook page! Take care, Laura

  21. So cute! Love it!!

  22. Holiday Snob says:

    Love it! Stopping by from Tidy Mom and had to pin it!

  23. Jessica says:

    This is SO cool! What a sweet surprise for your daughter.

  24. The is so great. I even have a can of paint waiting to be used!

  25. Sue says:

    Love the creative space to get the creative juices flowing!
    Visiting you from TT&J

  26. angie says:

    how cool is that! great job!

  27. Oh my cuteness! What a perfect place to be creative… love it! I’m putting it in the PoPP SPOTLIGHT this weekend. Thanks for linking up.

  28. I love this… My mother painted a small wall that we have in our dining room with chalkboard paint while we were still in school *homeschooled*.
    It was so much fun then and we still use it today!

  29. Crystal says:

    My kids would love this. Very creative of you to add the chalk frames! I’m a new follower.

  30. adorable, and love the Ikea system for the chalk. thanks so much for sharing on Craft Schooling Sunday!

  31. I love the frames! What a fun place to be creative. 😉

  32. Felicia says:

    I know my little guy would be jealous if he saw this, I just don’t have the guts to do it!
    Looks great!

    Would love for you to share over at Calling All Crafters!
    http://allthingsfee.blogspot.com/2011/05/calling-all-crafters-8th-edition.html

  33. Vanessa says:

    That turned out so cute! Love the frames you drew on the chalk board wall, too!
    I would love it if you shared this at my linky party @ {nifty thrifty sunday}!
    xoxo,
    Vanessa

  34. Jenna says:

    I came across this post on Pinterest and your daughter’s room looks so much like my craft room, that I had to click on it! The angled ceiling, the blue walls, the chalkboard wall… craziness! Great minds think alike, I guess. Here’s a link to my chalkboard walls if you want to check it out: http://twoohtwoseven.blogspot.com/2012/01/operation-craft-room-i-used-chalkboard.html

  35. Your wall looks so beautiful, nice job! I’ve got your post here linked to my DIY chalk art post too today, well done!!

  36. Pingback: Making Monday Marvelous #57

  37. Pingback: My chalkboard wall begins... - thePEARLblog

  38. I really like your blog. You make it interesting to read and entertaining at the same time. I cant wait to read more from you.

Leave a comment