Why I Periodically Ghost

Do y’all know the term “Ghosting?’

It’s used mostly to refer to when people are dating and one person suddenly ceases communication with the other without any explanation or contact in any way.  It’s highly obnoxious and rude.

Dear Readers, I have Ghosted on you several times in the past year and it’s time to come clean with why.  It’s not you, it’s me, I promise.  Sorry, folks!

When we first moved back to America in the fall of 2014, we were in a state of limbo.  We were in our corporate apartment while house hunting for several months, The Cuties were getting settled in two new schools and The Husband was figuring out what he was going to do exactly back at his old company.  By the end of winter, we’d closed on The New Old House, and were committed to renovating.  The Cuties were not only settled at their new schools, but they were thriving.  Not a small statement to make with a tween and teen.

But there was a lot of flux going on at The Husband’s job and some new opportunities on the horizon.  And after a lot of conversation, soul-searching and wine, we made the decision for him to take a terrific job out of state during the work week, and The Cuties and I would stay here in Connecticut.  He makes it back every weekend, and is the best about Face Timing for challenging Algebra homework with one Cutie while I’m cooking dinner and discussing the day’s events with the other Cutie.  And when the weekend comes he’s completely present and we have complete and total Family Time, which has been fantastic.

So generally speaking, we’ve settled into our New Normal, and are in the groove.

Most of the time.

And then sometimes I’m not.

Like the end of the school year crunch when there’s been concerts, plays, assemblies, rehearsals, extra PTA meetings, greater need for volunteers, final exams, and a few other special events in our lives.  And there were more days than not where we ate take out, barely had clean underwear, the gas gauge was dinging at me, and blogging was clearly the last thing there was an iota of energy left for.

But I miss it.  I miss writing, photographing and thinking of projects.  I miss this small little part of my week that I do simply because I want to.  And so I will try to do better, Ghost a little less and find my groove again.

But if I disappear for a while again, be patient ~ I’m just slightly crazy, but I’ll be back.

This entry was posted in Ordinary Days I Love. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I Periodically Ghost

  1. Hope Bourassa says:

    I’ve missed you! Seeing a new notification yesterday was the highlight of my week.

  2. george says:

    you ghost I ghost Jacq definitely ghosts! We’d be brilliant as a trio for Halloween! its ok thought its a marathon not a sprint- life that is. xxg

Leave a comment