The “Big Mama” Valentine Wreath

So I showed you my little Pom Pom wreath earlier here and mentioned The Big Mama wreath {yes, I clearly have a bizarre desire to name inanimate objects in my home.  Let’s just go with it, shall we?}.

I wanted to do something similar yet different than the yarn and felt rosettes wreath I made for Hanukkah.  For starters, I was thinking BIGGER.  We have an older home, with a painted black front door and I love the idea of the bold contrast of red and white with that, especially because we happen to have black and white trim on our red brick house.  Clearly the architect was working with me for Valentine’s Day all those many years ago.  Many thanks, designer dude.

I started with a large straw wreath and began wrapping it in long strips of red felt {about 2″ wide, cut off the bolt}.  Do NOT take the plastic off the straw wreath as felt+straw = bad combination.

Because I left the plastic on, my ubiquitous glue gun was not optimal, so I simply pinned the pieces directly into the wreath.

Once the wreath was completely covered, I made up a bunch of circle felt flowers in assorted sizes and colors.  There are a million tutorials all over Blogland so I won’t bore you with yet another.  I then made up leaves out of scraps of ribbons.  I’m sure there are other ways to make these, but here was my “quick and easy, don’t have to pull out the sewing maching and use up what I have” methodology {I’m so Martha, aren’t I, LOL}.

Starting with a plain strip, I put a dab of hot glue at the top and folded down one side in a triangle.

I then put another dab of hot glue and folded the other side down into a triangle too.

Next, I flipped the whole thing over and put a small, vertical line of hot glue near the bottom and pinched it together to give it a little dimension and the illusion of a leaf.

I repeated about a dozen times in scraps of satin and grosgrain and inserted them wherever I could around the flowers as filler.

Finally, I made a loop out of plain red ribbon and glued it together to hang the wreath since I felt a bow just didn’t “go” with this particular design {and I have a painted little hook on my door thanks to the previous owners}.

Close up so you can see the little bitty sparkles in the red flowers!

And because the pictures were taken when I finished at about 9 o’clock at night while it was snowing outside, here it is hanging from the other side of the door, too!

Linked to:
CSI Project, The Hills are Livin, It’s a Hodgepodge Life, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Fun to Craft, Tidy Mom, Finding Fabulous, Chic on a Shoestring Decorating, My Romantic Home, The Shabby Nest, Frugal & Fabulous Design, Frou Frou Decor, Paisley Passions, Yesterday on Tuesday, Tatertots and Jello, Along for the Ride, Creative Jewish Mom, Be Different Act Normal, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Keeping it Simple, Between Naps on the Porch, Mad in Crafts, Craft-O-Maniac, The Girl Creative, Today’s Creative Blog, Hope Studios, Sugar Bee, These Creative Juices, Skip to My Lou, Not Just a Housewife, Tip Junkie, My Backyard Eden, Nikki’s Nifty Knacks, Feeding My Temple
This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Decorating and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The “Big Mama” Valentine Wreath

  1. Beautiful wreath! I love the big felt flowers!

  2. I love the felt flowers you created here! Beautiful job!

  3. Cheryl says:

    Your rosettes are quite lovely!!! “Big Mama”…snicker…snicker.

  4. Courtney D. says:

    This is beautiful! Stopping by from Blue Cricket-I just saw the guest post you did with the lovely pillows. I’ve featured them over at my blog and you are welcome to come by and check out the post if you’d like-http://scrapsnscribs.blogspot.com/2011/01/valentines-goodies-from-blogland.html

  5. Veronica says:

    I love the colors and how the flowers pop! Gorgeous crafts, house and family! I love your Hanukkah ideas. Must remember for this year!

  6. This is sooooo cute!!!

  7. Olga says:

    It’s very pretty.

  8. Rachel says:

    What a wonderful tutorial! Thanks! We are having a linky party over here: http://tinyurl.com/4m5k27k come and join if you would like!

  9. I love anything made with felt, great project! Looks great on the door too.

  10. great wreath! and love those flowers, and the ribbon leaf tutorial! And thanks so much for sharing on Craft Schooling Sunday! All the best, and happy crafting.

  11. This is such a beautiful wreath. Love the flowers and the colors. Looks great on your door!

  12. Meg says:

    That’s adorable! I love how you added the leaves. Great job!

  13. trisha says:

    This is an adorable wreath! Love it.

  14. Super cute! I need to get my Valentine’s Day Wreath up!!

  15. This is so cute! I’ve been really wanting to make a felt wreath to combine two of my favorite loves – felt and wreaths! Do you have a storm door or did you actually let yours hang outside? And did you coat it with something? I’ve been wanting to put a wreath up outside and can’t figure out what everyone does to keep them looking pretty outside…

  16. feltsocute says:

    I keep it outside and we live somewhere with a lot of snow. Occasionally during a big storm I bring it in, but otherwise, during a “typical” snowstorm, it’s been fine without any special treatment.

  17. thecraftyscientist says:

    Good to know… thanks!

  18. Mimi says:

    Your wreath is so charming! Love the colors and the oh so darling felt flowers! I have been toying with the idea of trying something with felt and this just convinced met to try! Thank you!

  19. Would love for you to join us at the Hugs and Kisses Valentine’s Party!
    http://itsablogparty.com/

  20. Nikki says:

    That is so sweet! Thanks for linking it up! 🙂

  21. AuntieT says:

    Great hint about leaving the plastic on the straw wreath. I love how you not only did the flowers but the accents of the leaves really add a lot.

  22. Gabi says:

    I just LOVE this wreath! I’ve been looking for tutorials for the flowers. I can’t find one. 😦 Can someone point me in the direction of a good tutorial. I really like the colors and the flowers. 🙂

Leave a comment