Spring Wreath

It’s St. Patrick’s Day, the last bits of snow are finally melting and Big Cutie left for school this morning wearing just a long sleeved shirt and a vest.  So it was with great shame that I realized the Big Mama Valentine’s Wreath was still hanging on our front door.  Clearly, it was time to do something about that nonsense.

I started with a basic curly grapevine wreath, some moss and some huge inspiration from this wreath as well as several others I’ve seen around Blogland.  I prefer “Reindeer Moss” in the 1.77L bags from Michael’s for my moss projects as I think it looks the most real.

I then began hot gluing pieces of moss all around the top of the wreath as if it were growing there.  Whenever possible, I tried to stick it under the vines and leave those awesome curly tendrils sticking up.

It didn’t take that much moss to cover the top of a large wreath {about a bag and a half}, as I wanted to leave the sides with the grapevine exposed as much as possible.  Once I finished, I took a few green and pink silk butterfly embellishment and glued them on.

Then I simply added a ribbon and big bow and hung it on the front door.  I’m actually loving that it’s finally so sunny today I had tons of shadows and glare!

And a close up!

Now I just need it to warm up a smidge more and I can plant something bright and flowery in my front urns and we’ll be ready to start some real spring clean up of the yard.

NightOwlCrafting
Linked to:
The CSI Project, The Creative Jewish Mom, C.R.A.F.T., The Girl Creative, Keeping it Simple, Between Naps on the Porch, Craft-O-Maniac, The DIY Showoff, Skip to My Lou, Making the World Cuter, Mad in Crafts, Coastal Charm, Hope Studios, The Stories of A to Z, All Thingz Related, Sugar Bee, Tip Junkie, Today’s Creative Blog, Not Just a Housewife, My Backyard Eden, Blue Cricket Design, Sew Much Ado, 733, Someday Crafts, Night Owl Crafting, Somewhat Simple, Beyond the Picket Fence, The Shabby Chic Cottage, House of Hepworths, Frugal & Fabulous Design, It’s a Hodgepodge Life, My Romantic Home, Chic on a Shoestring Decorating, The Shabby Nest, Yesterday on Tuesday, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Fun to Craft, Serenity Now, Tatertots and Jello, Along for the Ride, Be Different Act Normal, A Vision to Remember, Craft Envy, Kojo Designs, Centsational Girl
This entry was posted in Craft Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Spring Wreath

  1. Cute Husband says:

    Again with the moss….

  2. AURALEE says:

    ahahaa @ cute hubby!!

    I’m going to try my hand at this one: http://asoftplace.net/2011/03/yarny-grassy-spring-butterfly-wreath/

    I think the yarn will give it a touch of ‘whimsy’…

  3. LOVE this wreath…much better than than the yarny grassy one…

  4. this is sooo adorable!! i love how simple it is and i LOVE moss! haha. thanks for linking it up!

  5. songbirdtiff says:

    Too cute! Love the butterflies for Spring.

  6. mommyinreallife says:

    LOVE IT!! I’ve been wanting to do a new spring wreath for years. The one I had from the ’90s was looking pretty dated! And faded! Bonus is I can get my hands on tons of reindeer moss!! And I believe I have a couple of grapevine wreaths hanging around. I love projects that I can do for free!!

  7. Cristan says:

    I LOVE this wreath! Well done!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  8. LOVE this wreath. What a great idea for spring. I have a few grapevine wreaths in my home right now…maybe I need another 🙂

  9. Mandy says:

    I love this! I have a grapevine wreath that has been sitting around waiting for something crafty to happen to it! This will be perfect, and it will match my welcome planter which also has a butterfly on moss thing going on: http://dibride.blogspot.com/2011/03/better-homes-and-gardens-copy.html

  10. Brandy J. says:

    So simple and so cute. I’m in love!!

  11. Holiday Snob says:

    LOVE LOVE it!! So perfect for a spring day–which I am dreaming of right about now–and those butterflies look like they will fly right off!!

  12. So very cute and very very springy! I love reindeer moss! 🙂

    I’d love you to link this up at my Friday Link Party if you are interested!

    Ashley
    http://www.simplydesigning.blogspot.com

  13. Hollie says:

    Beautiful wreath for Spring!

  14. Wendybv says:

    That turned out really cute! I’m loving all the moss projects I’ve been seeing. Might have to try one myself.

  15. Mel says:

    So very pretty and yes, the reindeer moss looks like it’s live.

  16. Kristine says:

    Very springy! I am really into Mossy stuff right now so this speaks to me! Happy Spring!

  17. Susan says:

    I love the butterflies!~

  18. Chandeen says:

    Nice one! My wreath was inspired by the very same one. Great minds think alike.

  19. What an adorable wreath, just perfect for spring. The moss is just right and oh the butterflies! Love it.

  20. What a cute idea! Love it!
    Visiting from Serenity Now….

  21. April R says:

    Absolutely beautiful!! Love this. It’s perfect for spring and looks easy enough to do. I will definitely be stealing this idea!! Looks like I have a fun project for the weekend. Thanks so much for sharing!
    -April

  22. Nancy says:

    This is definetly a project I need to do , sooooooo cute, and you could make it your own so easily!
    http://grown-ups-table.blogspot.com/2011/03/not-exactly-springtime.html

  23. Nancy says:

    Love it! It’s going in my projects I want to do list!

  24. Red Head says:

    It looks so pretty hanging on your door, and that ribbon is gorgeous! I saw comments on another blog that the store bought moss can have “live” critters in it? Did yours? That made me a little nervous to mess around with it. Maybe she just got a bad batch?

    Anyhoo, your wreath looks great!

  25. Ashley says:

    This is so cute and cheerful! And it looks simple, too :).

  26. Kelli says:

    So pretty! I love the green ribbon!

  27. feltsocute says:

    I have been using this kind of moss for literally 15+ years {see reference to that whole topiary obsession back in the 90s, LOL!} and have NEVER found a critter of any kind. But this moss comes in a bag from Michaels ~ I’m not LITERALLY gathering it from outside for the project, so maybe that’s what the comment was about.

    And thanks for your kind words!

  28. Oh, that is so pretty!!! I love the play on all those textures. I need something fun and fresh like this for my boring front door. :s

    Thanks so much for joining my Weekend Bloggy Reading party. 🙂 Have fun making a new blog friend or two, and I hope you’ll visit me at Serenity Now again soon! 🙂

  29. megan says:

    the color on that ribbon is gorgeous. I love the butterflies too.

    megan
    craftycpa.blogspot.com

  30. Laura says:

    You inspired me! I picked up the supplies today and made a moss spring wreath. Thanks for sharing your idea!

  31. Dona says:

    Love this wreath! I think the best thing about it, for me, is that you could take off the butterflies and add sunflowers or something for summer! I have a “space issue” so have to think of things that can be changed without complete replacement. Thanks so much!

  32. Pingback: 5 Cute DIY Spring Moss Wreaths | Shelterness

  33. Leslie says:

    I love your adorable fresh looking wreath! I featured it on Hoo’s got talent! Thanks for linking up to the party!

  34. I featured this project and my post today ~ thanks for the amazing inspiration!
    http://www.sasinteriors.net/2011/04/spring-wreath-inspiration/

    Jenna, SAS Interiors

  35. Emily says:

    I just finished my wreath and love it! Thank you for the suggestions, I can’t wait to make more for my family and friends!

  36. Debbie says:

    I featured you on my blog the other day! I also attempted at one too! Love this. 🙂

  37. What a completely adorable wreath ~ I love it!

    Have a Happy Labor Day.

  38. Pingback: Great Ideas -- Spring Wreaths {1}

  39. Screendoorgirl 3 says:

    So beautiful! Thanks so much for sharing this. Love it!!

Leave a comment