Ready to Be a Royal Guest

I’m a hat girl.

Always have been, always will be.  It’s only added to my semi-obsession that Cute Husband finds me especially adorable in hats.

So imagine my delight when my British friend Julie invited me to a champagne brunch and sweets to watch the Royal wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton on Friday.  Per the invitation instructions, I am to dress up and wear a hat.

Is this my kinda party or what?!!!

At first, I took this as an opportunity to purchase a new hat.  Although let’s be honest here people, Garbage Day is really an occasion to purchase a new hat in my book.  I searched every store in my city with no real luck.  We were in Boston recently and I bought something there, but knew I wasn’t in love with it and it’s going back.  But last night inspiration struck with a lightning bolt {and by that I mean at 8:15 pm, I had to dash out of the house to Michael’s in a frenzy in order to get some ribbon that coordinated with my dress for the hat band since I knew all the stores would be closed on Easter Sunday}.

I started with one of my favorite simple beach hats.  Very basic, and most importantly, fits my super-sized head.

I covered the natural band with some one inch grosgrain ribbon in the same aqua as my dress and simply tied a knot tightly as I don’t want any of these embellishments to be permanent {when you see the finished product I think we will all agree it’s a wee bit too much for wearing beside the swimming pool!}.

Then I took a bunch of these satin circles

And turned them into these {there are about a million tutorials online for making satin flowers, so I won’t take up space here.  If you haven’t made them before, please believe me they are EASY and quick, so grab some fabric and get cutting!}.

Now clearly that’s WAY more flowers than I’ll need for one hat {even MY super-sized head isn’t THAT big!}, but I like to have a lot of options ready to go and I know I’ll make hair accessories out of the leftovers for some little girls I know.

I played around with placement of the flowers in a few different ways, which involved a lot of me running back and forth to a mirror, precariously holding several flowers to the hat and trying to see myself from each angle and then back to the craft room for adjustments.  I run a really smooth operation here.

It needed something, but I wasn’t sure what.  And then I knew.  FEATHERS!  This was a royal wedding after all.  And Kate wears the BEST hats and fascinators with feathers.  I needed to get my hands on some aqua and green feathers immediately.  So I did what any loving mother does.  Tore apart my daughter’s Halloween costume.  Hey!  I made it, I can tear it apart for spare parts, right?

I grabbed the peacock feathers from her hood, attached them in a very similar way to the band of the hat and then added satin flowers to cover my felt “patch.”

And lest you think this project took hours upon hours, I should let you in on how I spent most of my day today….

Linked to:
The Thrifty Home Refinished Furniture Party


Today's Creative Blog

Creative Jewish Mom, C.R.A.F.T., The DIY Showoff, The Girl Creative, Keeping it Simple, Between Naps on the Porch, Making the World Cuter, Sumo’s Sweet Stuff, Skip to My Lou, Mad in Crafts, Craft-o-Maniac, Running with Glitter, Coastal Charm, Tip Junkie, Today’s Creative Blog, Hope Studios, Sugar Bee Crafts, Bowl Full of Lemons, Not Just a Housewife, All Thingz Related, Sew Much Ado, My Backyard Eden, Blue Cricket Design, The Blackberry Vine, Elements Interiors, Organize and Decorate Everything, The Thrifty Home, 733, Someday Crafts, Somewhat Simple, Beyond the Picket Fence, Night Owl Crafting, The Shabby Chic Cottage, Paisley Passions, Fireflies & Jellybeans, House of Hepworths, Momnivore’s Dilemma, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Finding Fabulous, Chic on a Shoestring Decorating, My Romantic Home, The Shabby Nest, Tatertots and Jello
This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Parties and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Ready to Be a Royal Guest

  1. MrsTass says:

    Oh Maisy!! Nice hat also!

  2. megan says:

    what a cute hat! You wear hats well. I have yet to meet a hat that I like.

    megan
    craftycpa.blogspot.com

  3. You did a fabulous job with all the details you added! I love hats. I always add pins and flowers to mine. Love the idea of a tea to celebrate the wedding!

    So excited to watch it!

    Megan

  4. Jo says:

    I love the flowers, the colors are beautiful!

  5. That hat is gorgeous and I love the colors along with the technique you used. Those type of hats always kinda remind me of the roaring twenties. Thanks for sharing this and I’m happy I hopped over from the blog hop, hope you will like my blog just as much:
    http://slipstitchesandmore.blogspot.com

  6. Kelly says:

    I love this and I’d love it if you linked it up to my weekly link party! http://runwithglitter.blogspot.com/2011/04/running-with-glitter-6-link-party.html

  7. I love this! The rosettes make it stunning!

  8. ashley says:

    very cute:)

  9. jami says:

    Lovely hat! Wishing I was hosting some sort of fun wedding watching party now! If you get a chance, I’d love for you to stop by and link up to the Tuesday To Do Party.
    http://blackberryvine.blogspot.com/2011/04/tuesday-to-do-party-7-and-6-list-makers.html
    Smiles!!
    Jami

  10. So CUTE!
    I would LOVE to have you link up to my Whassup Wednesday Par-Tay! And I have a party button you can grab and put on your blog so your friends can come too:)

    If you are NOT already a Follower of Elements Interiors….HELLEEERRRR!

    Click that Google Follow button and YOU will be ENTERED in my

    “Its a SURPRISE!” GIVEAWAY to be announced EVERY MONDAY! Yeppers! You read it right,

    a Winner EVERY MONDAY!!! With GREAT Goodies you wont want to miss!!

    Hope to see ya at Whassup Wednesday!!!

    *ENTER LINKY PAR-TAY Here! *

    xoxokara

  11. Thanks for linking to Take-A-Look Tuesday – I featured you today! – Mandy, http://www.SugarBeeCrafts.com

  12. Debbie says:

    Very Cute! come and join our party: http://fabricbowsandmore.blogspot.com/

  13. love it! glad to see the crafting isn’t taking precedence over the napping! you’re too funny! guess a girl needs her beauty sleep for the big champagne brunch. Thanks so much for sharing on craft schooling Sunday!

  14. Lovely hat. I like the colour of the flowers, it’s so bright

  15. jami says:

    I’m so glad you linked this up at the Tuesday To Do Party! I can’t wait to see what you share next time!
    Smiles!!!
    Jami
    PS. The Pretty Packages Party is going on now.

    http://blackberryvine.blogspot.com/2011/04/pretty-packages-party-9.html

    I’d love for you to stop by!

  16. I love your napping pic at the end…

    Thanks for linking to Creative Juice. Hope to see you back again this week!

  17. Hi, friend! I’m admiring all your creative posts here so can you please share them with us at the Creative Bloggers’ Party & Hop? Hope to see you there at the party 🙂

Leave a comment