A Room With No Name

That seems an easier way to refer to our extra room than as the Guest Room/Play Room/Craft Room, don’t you think?

We are lucky enough to have found an apartment with a fourth small bedroom that we can use as a substitute for some of the other rooms we used to have in our house back in the States.

A real guest bed won’t fit in the room, nor can we really afford to take up all the space in the room most of the time with a bed, so we brought an Ikea sofa bed.  It’s nice in that there’s somewhere for The Cuties to stretch out with friends and color or play games, and when guests come to visit, they’ll have somewhere to sleep at our place.  The colorful rug is also from Ikea, and I hope will help protect the light-colored carpet while the girls do crafts at the table there.  The “coffee table” is actually two super-cheap end tables pushed together from the Target dorm collection.

I brought bookshelves from home for all my craft stuff and my self-imposed rule was that it all had to be able to fit on these two shelves {already I’m a big fat liar, but I had a plan in mind for where the other things will go so that doesn’t count – seriously, and it’s a good plan you’ll get to see in a second}.

Of course my other secret plan was that the felt is a consumable, so once that’s used up I have license to start shopping all those fabulous Japanese craft stores {hopefully this particular post hits at a busy moment in time for Cute Husband and he’s going to just gloss over that little revelation!}.

And here’s my tiny little desk and chair and the wrapping paper I schlepped with me {which between me and the Internet honestly should have gone to storage since I’m living in the land in the most beautiful gift wrapping supplies in the world, but c’est la vie!}.

This room also has two of those great tall closets like in Little Cutie’s room.  One of them is stuffed with off-season clothes and golf clubs, but the other has more good stuff!  The Cuties and their friends can help themselves to coloring supplies and craft kits.  I’ve got my sewing machine, camera bag, laptop bag and stash of gift bags easily accessible.

But I’m most excited about the pants hangers I brought for all of my Silhouette vinyl.  Even Cute Husband acknowledged its a great solution for it, especially because I can’t add things like shelves or other vertical storage options to the room.

And those drawers?  Those are like my new “mini Monica closet” and already filled with random crap.  It’s a sickness, what can I say?

This entry was posted in Decorating, Organizing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Room With No Name

  1. Laura says:

    love the splashes of color you’ve added to the room. I’d call it the MPR, a reference to my school days where we had the multipurpose room which was used for gym class, the lunchroom, and assemblies. Looks like you are really making your new place feel like your home!

  2. The pant hanger idea is great. I have a Cricut and I lost the cord (even though I was keeping all the stuff together) and I haven’t tried using vinyl with it yet. Right now I just have to get back in the habit of cutting stuff. I can’t believe that your apartment has 4 bedrooms. You are in Tokyo right? I love hearing about your everyday experiences in Japan.

  3. I also have a ‘room with no name’; mine functions as a craft room, a study, an ironing room and a place to store my husband’s drum kit. I’m also limited to one bookcase to store all of my crafting items in but it’s amazing how much stuff you can hide underneath a sewing table!!! I loved Tokyo when I visited last year and saw loads of interesting things, didn’t enjoy the heat too much though!

  4. Pingback: 11 Ways to Organize with Hangers | Guilin Achino Co.,Ltd

  5. I’d like too than you for the efforts you haqve put in writing this site.
    I am hoping to view thee same high-grade blog posts by youu in the future as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired mme to
    get my vry own blog now 😉

  6. T says:

    I just found your vinyl storage solution on Pinterest and I’m SO EXCITED to try it! My vinyl stash is growing so fast and I didn’t know how to store it…. until now! You are a GENIUS!

Leave a comment