High Tech Couples Halloween Costume

In the midst of my constant whining about not getting to make The Cuties’ Halloween costumes this year, the husband and I received an invitation to an adults-only costume party.  Half paralyzed with fear about the prospective of dressing up in my 40s and half excited about potentially getting to bust out my glue gun after all, we sat down to brainstorm ideas.

And promptly stalled.  For starters, there’s no Party City or pop-up costume stores in Tokyo, so our resources are limited.  No real rummaging through Goodwill or vintage clothing stores for cheap and chic inspiration either.  So we were starting to think it had to be really creative or really lame.  And then you throw our own personal baggage about what each of us does and does not want to wear into the mix, and well….it wasn’t pretty.

After many false starts, I arrived at a stroke of brilliance {work with me here, people} one afternoon and got to work.

As  always homemade costumes in the Felt So Cute household have to adhere to my Costume Making Manifesto in that there is minimal to no sewing, no patterns to follow, cocktails can be consumed while constructing them, and an abundance of felt and hot glue can be utilized.  And most importantly, it can’t cost much to make at all.

I literally started with a four-inch by four-inch square of card stock and rounded the edges as my template.  And cut twenty of those in assorted colors.

And a few scraps of felt and movies later, I had these little guys I could hot glue onto one long piece of black felt with a circle cut out for my head.

For those of you who don’t live in Japan, there may be some unfamiliar apps ~ The yellow circle at the top is the train app {terrific for plugging in a starting and ending station that will tell you which connections you need to make} and the big blue wave is our earthquake and tsunami app {unfortunately, a reality here}.

Here are some close-ups of the family favorites:

Angry Birds

Facebook:

and Maps {thankfully, I’ve avoided doing my upgrade and they’ve been saved!}

And a view of the iPhone costume from the back, complete with camera! {it’s a little hard to tell in the sunlight, but the apple icon is actually a mylar silver fabric to reflect}

But even the best of technology can falter at times, so of course every iPhone needs an Apple Genius to accompany her around town!

{I downloaded the apple logo and cut it onto white fabric backed with fusible web using my Silhouette machine.  The lanyard is made from some elastic cord and a plastic pocket}

The apps were made almost entirely from my scrap box, so I’d estimate the two costumes were under $20 in total, including the blue t-shirt and the length of black felt.

Visit thecsiproject.comPositively Splendid

IhookedupwithHoHlamespice
Linked to:
Beyond the Picket Fence, The Shabby Creek Cottage, The Train to Crazy, House of Hepworths, Rhinestone Beagle, The CSI Project, Somewhat Simple, It’s a Hodgepodge Life, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Chic on a Shoestring Decorating, My Romantic Home, The Shabby Nest, Lovely Crafty Home, Kellys Korner, The Humble Brag, Creative Jewish Mom, Be Different Act Normal, A Vision to Remember, Craft Envy, Positively Splendid, Funky Junk Interiors, Tatertots and Jello, Under the Table and Dreaming, C.R.A.F.T., The Girl Creative, Making the World Cuter, Keeping it Simple, Mad in Crafts, Sew Chatty, Craft-o-Maniac, Sumos Sweet Stuff, DIY Showoff, Skip to My Lou, Between Naps on the Porch, A Bowl Full of Lemons
This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Parties and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to High Tech Couples Halloween Costume

  1. amberinjp says:

    !!! It’s so cool! I wanted to be Wenda, (the girl from Where’s Waldo) but I didn’t order a sweater & hat in time… it could still happen though – I’m going to a real shopping mall this weekend near Nagoya!

  2. Tokyo Jinja says:

    Both the Gap and Forever 21 have perfect red and white striped shirts for “Where’s Waldo”

  3. Mel says:

    That is soooooooo cool! My hubs & teen boys would go nuts for this. Awesome awesome job

  4. Sara says:

    Love it!

  5. kara says:

    Genius! Love how Cute Husband has such a simple costume …. that is actually something I could get my hubby to wear!

  6. great idea! and i like your costume making rules, lol.

  7. shelley says:

    I love this costume. happy halloween

  8. Condo Blues says:

    I like how you added Pinterest to your phone. Last year was the first time in forever I got my Husband to do a matching costume. We were Schoolhouse Rock.

  9. feltsocute says:

    LOVE Schoolhouse Rock – what were you?

  10. WHOA! This is absolutely AMAZING!!!

  11. gena says:

    So cute!!!! I reference your amazing life in Japan all the time to my family – as in “you know that blog I read by a lady from up here, with the daughter with AFOs and she moved to Japan? Well… check out what she did now…” LOL!

    Happy Halloween!

    gena

  12. Amelia says:

    Clever, and so well executed! Your craftsmanship and attention to detail are evident. Nice job!

  13. Natalie says:

    Holy Cow! that is impressive!

  14. This is SO cute! I’m impressed with your patience to cut everything out for all the apps. What fun ideas!

  15. Pingback: Winners of the DIY Halloween Costume Challenge | The CSI Project

  16. jocieopc says:

    This is seriously awesome! I’m going to pin this for next year’s halloween! love it!!!
    Would love if you came and linked up with us. We’re giving away one free week of ad space for one lucky feature, and our blog gets thousands of hits per day! Hope to see you there!

    http://www.oneprojectcloser.com/the-humble-brag-link-party-4/

  17. Tarah says:

    thanks for the inspiration! just made my own version for my costume!!

  18. Laurie says:

    this is amazing and i am showing my 11 year old in the morning. may be a great one for next year as they are always glued to their ipods!

  19. brilliant, and great craftsmenship! was just thinking I hadn’t seen you for some time as there’a new contributor from Japan, so though of you! Check out her website, the project was just featured, the corrugated pumpkin heads. all the best, what’s up for chanukah?

  20. lisa says:

    So, so adorable! A great idea for a costume!

  21. Michele says:

    What a great costume! Well done!

  22. I’d say that is super-genius! Apple should put you on commission to have their own costume line next year — they seem to like making a few bucks here and there……lol!

  23. natashajk says:

    That is a super-cool costume! Way to go!

  24. Julie says:

    FANTASTIC!!! Great idea and execution! Have a great time at the party!

  25. Pingback: Hookin Up with HoH #123

  26. Carrie says:

    Great costume! Gotta love felt.

  27. Darling! Pinned this! Not crazy about halloween parties but I could definitely rock this costume 😉

  28. Pingback: M.M.M. #129

  29. Pingback: Seven Creative Halloween Costume Ideas | Positively Splendid {Crafts, Sewing, Recipes and Home Decor}

  30. Pingback: OilCoolant.com

  31. Pingback: Tumblrstar

  32. Pingback: -

Leave a comment