Sneaky Centerpiece

Whenever I fill a vase with flowers, I like to also put something in my container to cover up the stems ~ limes, lemons, kumquats, cranberries, etc.  However, each year at Hanukkah I run into a problem that I can never find a good “filler” that works with my blue and gold color scheme.  Until now {cue the dramatic music, please!}.

First, take two vases, identical in shape, but different sizes.

Place the smaller vase inside the larger vase, leaving a small channel between the two.  That’s where the boxes of Hanukkah gelt comes in!  Enlist some small helpers to open up all the mesh baggies and slide the individual pieces of wrapped chocolates between the two vases.  Bribing them with an occasional piece of gelt will help, I promise!

Then place your floral frog inside the smaller vase, fill with water and add your flowers!  It will look like your flowers are floating in chocolates, but only you {and the whole wide Internet} will know about your sneaky second vase!

This is where I confess to you that in a perfect world blue hydrangeas would be in season during Hanukkah because that would better coordinate with my blue and gold decor.  But really, if I’m going to start wishing for major changes in the ways of the world I think I’ll shoot for something like peace on earth instead of merely color coordination.

This would look awesome for your Christmas tables with candy canes, peppermints, gumdrops ~ you name it!

Linked up with:

The Girl Creative, Sumo’s Sweet Stuff, C.R.A.F.T., Keeping it Simple, Craft-o-Maniac, The DIY Showoff, Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, Dittle Dattle, Sugar Bee, Lucky Star Lane, These Creative Juices, Today’s Creative Blog, Night Owl Crafting, Blue Cricket Design, Creations by Kara, Someday Crafts, Sew Much Ado, The Trendy Treehouse, Paisley Passions, Life as Lori, The Shabby Chic Cottage, Somewhat Simple, Fingerprints on the Fridge, The Shabby Nest, It’s a Hodgepodge Life, Frou Frou Decor, Tatertots and Jello

This entry was posted in Celebrations, Craft Projects, Decorating and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sneaky Centerpiece

  1. Heather says:

    I absolutely love this! What a sneak 🙂

  2. great idea! i never remember about the vase in a vase thing to use less filler, etc. it’s funny that you do blue and gold, b/c i think blue and silver. i’m going to have to spruce things up with some gold now. thanks for the idea! do you think that gelt is safe from little hands, lol?!

  3. feltsocute says:

    It was a “dramatic” decision a few years ago to go gold over silver {mostly because our favorite menorah has gold and not silver}. It is a challenge since a lot of stuff is silver, and I often rethink it, LOL. My girls know better than to mess with a craft of Mama’s and there’s plenty of other goodies in our house, so I’m not really worried about that particular gelt getting swiped!

  4. Anna says:

    Curious what the girls are getting for Hanukkah… 🙂 My daughter is younger but you have great taste so I figured I would ask. So far we have a gawdy unicorn pillow pet from daddy and a bead/bracelet/necklace set from Melissa and Doug.

  5. feltsocute says:

    We don’t do a lot for Hanukkah in our house – Big Cutie has an October birthday and Little Cutie has a January birthday. 1st night is the Mommy & Daddy gift and will be “experiential” this year – we are giving them the Penguin Interaction at our local aquarium and a family day there, which they love {to tell them I have a small penguin stuffie and a book on penguins for each of them}. We then fill in the next 6 nights with gifts from other relatives and the 8th night is “the gift of giving.” Their piggy banks are divided in thirds {spend, save & share} and on the 8th night of Hanukkah they count out what they’ve put aside all year and Cute Husband and I match it and then the girls chose a charity that has meaning to them and we donate it from them. We’ve been doing it for a few years, and EVERY organization has been great about writing back directly to the children!

  6. ElizOF says:

    You did an absolutely beautiful job and those roses are sparkling! Stopped by from Toot Your Horn Tuesday Blog Hop and happy to find another WordPress blogger.
    Happy Thanksgiving!
    Elizabeth

  7. What a great project! I’m a new follower from Amaze Me Monday.

    Happy Holidays to you!
    http://SallyLeeByTheSea.com

  8. Carrie says:

    So very clever! Now I wouldn’t be scared to add fresh flowers in my home with this trick 😀 I’m having trouble leaving a comment on Pier 1 redo. Here’s what I was going to leave.

    Thank you for linking up to the first ever “Amaze Me Monday” blog party.

  9. wespiegels says:

    FANTASTIC idea! I think I need to take a trip to Ikea JUST to do this! TFS!

  10. Amnah says:

    That’s really cute!

  11. Haley Davis says:

    OMG!! What a great idea! Love it!!

  12. Lisa says:

    What a cute idea! I love it! My mom always gives us tons of gelt so I could definitely do this!

  13. Lynne says:

    I was planning to take a de-stash challenge this spring — but now i can’t start it until i find two identical vases in different sizes.

  14. Pingback: Clever Hanukkah Floral Arrangement | Bride Ideas

  15. Pingback: Clever Hanukkah Floral Arrangement | PrestonBailey.com

Leave a comment