New Year’s Eve Party Hats for Little People!

We’re gearing up for a very family-friendly New Year’s Eve little fete in our house and my first project was to make up some reusable party hats for all the kiddos.

This was one of those projects where I had a very specific idea in my head as to what I wanted and how I hoped it would go and it actually all worked out that way.  That honestly, rarely happens, LOL.

The first thing I did was to take a regular cardboard party hat and disassemble it to use as my template.  Lay it on a piece of felt or other thick piece of fabric and trace a pattern, giving yourself a quarter inch to half inch seam allowance, depending on your preference.


Once I cut out my hat shapes, I took scraps of felt and made silly faces and added some embellishments as well.  A better crafter would probably have sewn each of these on, but seriously ~ that would have involved repeatedly rethreading my sewing machine each time I changed colors and we all know I’m about instant gratification, right?  So as usual, I simply glue-gunned everything on using the high temp setting.

Once everything was glued on, I sewed a seam at the bottom {this gives a little body to the hat where it’s going to rest on the head}, and then sewed the two straight edges together to form a back seam to the hat.  Do this inside out and then turn it rightside out.  You may need to use a chopstick or pointy object to get the tip of the hat all the way out.

Once you’ve done that, stick the cardboard hat inside your new one and mark where the elastic sides are attached with straight pins.  I then sewed ribbons instead of using elastic {my children LOATHE the elastic on party hats and complain about them constantly}.  Be sure to sew the ribbon pretty securely as it will be tugged on and abused.

Now get ready for New Year’s silliness!

And just because there’s something I love about each one, here’s a close up~

Gotta love a happy cyclops!  This is Bob and his eyebrow and tongue are 3-D!

Little Cutie helped design Rita ~ her eyelashes are 3-D, and because Little Cutie is a bit of a Diva, of course she needed a wee touch of bling!


Big Cutie helped with Flo ~ she wanted her to have glasses like she wears.  I was going for a retro 50s diner look and gave her a pom pom nose.

Finally, here’s Ed.  He’s just plain goofy.  You’d be too if you only had three teeth and very crooked eyebrows.

Little Cutie gives it her Party Girl Seal of Approval!
Clearly, these aren’t New Year’s Eve specific.  You could make them for any party, especially children’s birthday parties.  I think I’m going to make up a family hat that we can pull out for each person’s birthday.  Now I wonder what I can make up that the puppy will wear for New Year’s…..

Linked up with:

Tatertots and Jello, I Heart Naptime, The DIY Showoff, C.R.A.F.T., Under the Table and Dreaming, Making the World Cuter, Craft-O-Maniac, Just a Girl, The Girl Creative, Sumo’s Sweet Stuff, Keeping it Simple, Skip to My Lou, Finding Fabulous, Between Naps on the Porch, Mad in Crafts, Sugar Bee, These Creative Juices, Today’s Creative Blog, Silly Little Sparrow, Creative Itch, My Delicious Ambiguity, ABC and 123 Learning, Blue Cricket Design, Childmade, The Trendy Treehouse, Creations by Kara, Someday Crafts, Night Owl Crafting, Life as Lori, Paisley Passions, The Shabby Chic Cottage, Beyond the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, A Vision to Remember, A Little Lovely, Be Different Act Normal, The CSI Project, Momnivore’s Dilemma
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Craft Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to New Year’s Eve Party Hats for Little People!

  1. Becky says:

    Oh my gosh! How totally adorable are those???? Im dying over them! =)

    I’m visiting from MMM at C.R.A.F.T
    Becky
    mrsbettierocker.blogspot.com

  2. These look great fun!! Love them.

    I would LOVE for you to join us at Kids Get Crafty (with or for kids, every Wednesday on Red Ted Art) – current link up http://www.redtedart.com/2010/12/15/kids-get-crafty-christmas-baubles/

    Hope to see you there!

    Maggy

  3. feltsocute says:

    Love to join you on Wednesday ~ thanks!

  4. Amy says:

    These are adorable!

  5. Sarah Takens says:

    I’m so glad someone else is thinking past Christmas now too! These hats are ADORABLE! Found you on Keeping It Simple!

  6. crystalc says:

    Way better then what you can buy at the $ store. Luv them

  7. Miranda says:

    I LOVE those hats. I think I’ll make some for this year’s party.

  8. Marie says:

    First of all, is your blog snowing? That is awesome!

    Second, these are the cutest hats! I love them! I’d love to have you submit it to the M&T Spotlight: http://www.makeandtakes.com/spotlight

  9. maribeth says:

    so cute!! love each one!

  10. C.R.A.F.T. says:

    Thank you for linking up to MMM last week 🙂 I love this idea 🙂 I hope you can link up more of your great ideas this Monday! MMM starts tonight! Merry Everything 🙂

  11. Ambrosia says:

    Oh those are adorable!!! I’ll have to make these for my kids – I know they’ll love them!

  12. Norma says:

    These are great! Thanks for sharing your cute idea. I’m going to make some for our trip we will be celebrating our New Year in Orlando.

  13. Pingback: New Year’s Party Hats · Lesson Plans | CraftGossip.com

  14. Brenda says:

    These are so cute. I might just have to make a couple for my grandkids!

  15. Brenda says:

    These are so cute. Kids would love these.

  16. Love them. These would make great party hats for birthdays as well…

    Hope you can join us at Creative Juice Thursday with these hats!


    nicolette
    http://momnivoresdilemma.blogspot.com/2010/12/creative-juice-thursday-5-features-and.html

  17. Becky says:

    So much fun, I featured these this week!

  18. CraftyStaci says:

    I have such a thing for felt lately – I might need a New Year’s Eve Party Hat for Big People! I’m including these in my Friday Favorites this week!

  19. Pingback: Friday Favorites–New Year’s Eve «

  20. Pingback: Reusable New Year’s Eve Party Hats | Total Class Creative

  21. carulmare says:

    I love those felt hats! Hope you don’t mind this creative experiment
    http://carulmare.blogspot.com/2010/12/de-kunde-ha-sett-lite-gladare-ut.html
    Happy New Year!

  22. Pingback: Come fare dei cappellini di carnevale: tutorial

  23. Lara Hodgson says:

    Hello, I love these and would love to profile them on my website. Check it out http://www.sunnycosatkids.com.au and let me know what you think? Sorry to post here but couldn’t find any contact details for you anywhere.

  24. Pingback: Cómo hacer divertidos gorros para cumpleaños | manualidades con moldes

  25. Pingback: Lavoretti di Carnevale: Crare Cappellini con il Feltro, i Pannolenci o la Stoffa | Shoppy

  26. Pingback: New Year’s Eve Round Up

  27. Pingback: Il veglione di Capodanno coi bambini | Feste e compleanni

  28. Pingback: New Year's Eve Party Dessert, Appetizers and Fun

  29. Pingback: 6 New Years Fun Kids Activities » Bellissima Kids Bellissima Kids

Leave a comment