Taming the Beast That is My Desk

This winter my desk has simply gotten away from me.  It’s gotten so bad lately it’s given me the shakes.  I think the piles on my desk just had babies but I can’t find the birth announcement amongst the clutter and piles, and half-finished projects, and precariously balanced laptop, and well….you get the picture.

Actually, here’s the picture.

Yes, my head is hung in shame.

But tonight I took action!  Garbage bag in one hand and a chai latte in the other, I hitched up my yoga pants and dove in.  In the end, it really only took about an hour and I feel like I lost a few pounds! {OK, clearly my desk did!}.


I added labels to my desk supply carousel, which helps a ton, so I won’t be spinning the darn thing and opening little drawers searching in vain for paper clips.  You’d think I would have clued in to the empty label holders some time ago and taken advantage of them, but sometimes I’m cuter than I am smart.

I think I need a 12-step program for Sharpie addiction.  There’s nothing like crisp, sharp new Sharpies to make me happy.  I’m either easily pleased, or once again, this is proof positive that I need therapy.

I also made space for my MomAgenda {BEST calendar system ever ~ read my ode to it here} and the bound notebook in which I write lists and Etsy information.  I love this lamp {I wanted to write “I love lamp” but figured not that many bloggers are big Anchorman fans}; it was a gift from the last prep school I worked at before leaving to become a Mom.  And of course, a designated space for my ubiquitous chai tea.  I *think* that might be my third for the day.  That does NOT bode well for getting to sleep tonight.

I’m going to try and participate in some of the great organizing projects at A Bowl Full of Lemons, but based on her Before & Afters of her desk clean up, I think I need a wee bit more time and work, LOL.

 

This entry was posted in Organizing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Taming the Beast That is My Desk

  1. You did a great job and it looks really nice and organized. My mom used to always say-“now keep it like this”…lol….I couldn’t stop myself, sorry! Have a great evening.

  2. Kathy says:

    Wow. Your desk looks amazing!! I am in the process of fixing mine up – just waiting for some spray painted item to dry HA!!! I am hoping to keep some order to mine in the future if everything has a place. Kathy

  3. kim says:

    Looks great !!! Nice recovery (and I love sharpies too !!!)

  4. Lindy says:

    Great job on your desk. It feels so good to get a project like this done — don’t you think? I love it.

  5. This looks great! I was cracking up as I read your post. I had many of the same thoughts about mine except I have all my craft stuff and other stuff (including sewing machine) on the floor next to the desk!!!

  6. I too have a Sharpie addiction–my abosolute favorite ones are the extra fine point ones. they don’t bleed through paper so I can use them for just about everything.
    I have passed the “stylish blogger” award on to you. You can grab the button at http://garciamania.blogspot.com
    Tracey

  7. Kerri says:

    I LOVE LAMP!!! 😉

  8. Jenn says:

    I have Sharpie envy.

    Great job!

  9. Patti Colwell says:

    I LOVE THE SHARPIE CADDY! Must have one for myself. Where did you get it? LOVE your blog. Love, love, love it.

  10. feltsocute says:

    Thank you! It’s from Michael’s but several years old.

  11. Meg says:

    Patti- They still have the caddy at Michaels. It is called the Jetmax desktop caddy. I just picked one up today.

Leave a comment